Meet the 2016 Recipients

Governor General Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case

Inspired? Nominate someone!

Cecilia Benoit

Cecilia Benoit

Cecilia Benoit teaches sociology at the University of Victoria in British Columbia, channelling her energy, expertise and passion for social justice to advancing the social rights of women and girls. A member of the Qalipu Mi’kmaw First Nation of Newfoundland and Labrador, Dr. Benoit conducts research in a range of areas, including: women’s social rights; Indigenous women's health; midwifery and maternity care; health inequities facing vulnerable populations; and substance use and misuse. With more than 200 published articles, books, book chapters and government reports to her credit, Dr. Benoit is in great demand as a keynote speaker, guest lecturer, and expert presenter at conferences and other gatherings. Her ongoing, informed advice to governments across Canada is perhaps one of her most valued contributions. She has had a significant impact on local, provincial and national policy and programs in such areas as: services for vulnerable women in the sex work, including those who use drugs; midwives as legitimate maternity providers; the inclusion of Indigenous knowledge in midwifery training; client-centered care for urban Indigenous women; and integrated health services for street-involved youth and substance-using pregnant women. An inspiring role model, she has mentored 40 graduate students – most of whom are women and many of whom have gone on to successful careers in public service. Dr. Benoit has received numerous awards and honours, including the Royal Society of Canada Award in Gender Studies, the Research Canada Leadership Award, the BC Community Achievement Award, and several research excellence and public/community service recognition awards. Dr. Benoit lives in Victoria, B.C.

Anna-Louise Crago

Anna-Louise Crago

Anna-Louise Crago is dedicated to following an inclusive path toward building gender equality, with courage and integrity, in Canada and abroad. Currently a doctoral candidate at the University of Toronto, she brings her lived experience in sex work to her studies in anthropology and ground-breaking human-rights initiatives. For two decades, she has been a human rights advocate, social service-provider and researcher alongside, and as part of, sex worker and street-involved communities. At Stella, Montréal’s centre for and by sex workers, Ms. Crago served as coordinator of health and social services. Along with her colleagues at Stella, she was co-recipient of the AIDS Action Award in 2006, given by Human Rights Watch. Ms. Crago has worked with sex workers in over 25 countries in many regions to document the human rights violations they face. She was lead author of a report on violence against sex workers by state-actors in Central Eastern Europe and Central Asia that Human Rights Watch called “ground breaking research” that should serve as a “catalyst to the human rights community.” In 2013, she received the prestigious Trudeau Doctoral Scholar Award from the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation, to pursue research on sex workers’ experience during armed conflict in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Ms. Crago has been influential in advancing policies on a global level that are key in changing country-level approaches to the HIV epidemic to include thousands of sex workers in access to prevention and treatment while addressing violence against sex workers and the harms of criminalization.

Lucia Lorenzi

Lucia Lorenzi

Lucia Lorenzi is a tireless advocate for gender equality in Canada. As a doctoral student at the University of British Columbia, she was a campus organizer around issues of rape culture, harassment and misogyny, and has become a prominent voice in the national conversation on campus violence. As an outspoken assault survivor, Dr. Lorenzi has used her own experience as a basis for education. Through public dialogue and personal vulnerability, she has involved both survivors and communities at large in creating strategies for safer, better-informed, and more supportive environments for women. She has served on the UBC Sexual Assault Expert Panel, which made recommendations for the university’s sexual assault policy, worked with EVA BC on the Western Canada Sexual Violence Initiative, and worked with Toronto-based feminist organization femifesto on their media guide for reporting about sexual assault. As a writer and blogger, she works to challenge rape culture. Dr. Lorenzi uses social media to promote an understanding of contemporary gender equality issues, particularly rape culture and sexualized violence; many of her posts have gone viral. Her writing offers a clear, brave, hopeful voice for change online, where misogyny is a daily reality. Dr. Lorenzi’s academic career is also focused on addressing sexualized and gendered violence, and her research has been recognized with funding from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. Having earned her PhD in English Literature from UBC in 2016, she now works as an independent scholar and consultant. Dr. Lorenzi lives in Port Coquitlam, B.C..

Pascale Navarro

Pascale Navarro believes that when women work together, they can change the world – and she has set out to prove it. A journalist and author/co-author of numerous books, articles, scripts, and other publications and productions, she focuses primarily on women, women’s contributions, and women’s participation in politics and decision-making. Ms. Navarro is passionate about the full spectrum of gender equality issues, from pornography to systemic gender discrimination to women and political power. Whatever the issue, she delves deep, and then shares her knowledge, ideas and perspectives through a range of media that reach every sector of society. Over the past quarter century, Ms. Navarro has penned countless articles for many Canadian publications, including La Gazette des femmes, La Presse and Le Devoir. A skilled communicator and lifelong feminist, she uses her expertise and perspective to advance women’s equality, conducting extensive research. Her recent book (Femmes et pouvoir : les changements nécessaires) calls for gender parity in politics. It is the result of many years of intense field research involving extensive worldwide travel. Ms. Navarro is also a dedicated volunteer, contributing to several organizations. She currently is a member of the Board of directors for Femmes, Politique et Démocratie, and also served on the Femmes de mérite selection committee for the Y des femmes de Montréal. She regularly meets with journalism and literature students, as well as various women’s groups and assemblies, to discuss the various strategies they may use to challenge society to change and embrace gender equality. She has received several honours, including the Prix Roseline-Ledoux, as well as awards from the Société des écrivains canadiens and Femmes de mérite du Y des femmes de Montréal. Ms. Navarro lives in Montréal.

Norma Jean Profitt

Norma Jean Profitt

Norma Jean Profitt has relentlessly pursued the interconnected goals of advancing equality for women and girls, and ending gender-based violence. As an academic, she conducted pivotal research on violence against women and child protection issues, combining theory and practice to influence policy makers and educators alike to create lasting change. Dr. Profitt has also worked at the grass-roots level: in rural Nova Scotia, improving access to services for women by addressing issues of mental health, substance use and sexualized violence; in Halifax, as director of a transition shelter for women and children escaping abuse; and in New Brunswick, by promoting second-stage housing, family violence outreach, and services for newcomers. During her years as an educator, Dr. Profitt engaged in cross-cultural exchange, building affirmative, woman-centred social work practices by using innovative measures, such as inviting women living in poverty to the classroom to share their experiences. A true community builder, Dr. Profitt engages with women in their collective, endeavours, using her leadership skills to work within diverse communities to create transformative change. A prime example of her unique leadership approach is her ground-breaking work in Costa Rica, where she developed a framework on gender violence that sparked a cascade of activism, awareness and action – including the first national march on violence against women in the nation’s capital, San José – workshops, support groups, networking, educational materials, social action and more. The author of numerous publications and articles, and a valued speaker, Dr. Profitt lives in Nova Scotia.

Diane Redsky

Diane Redsky

Diane Redsky is a proud mother of three children, a Kookum (grandmother) and a member of First Nation Shoal Lake #40 who has made it her life’s work to advance gender equality, particularly for Indigenous women. A noted Canadian visionary thinker and community leader, she is Executive Director of the Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre. She plays a pivotal leadership role in the Centre – the largest non-profit, Indigenous-led organization in Manitoba, employing 250 Indigenous persons, engaging more than 750 community volunteers and providing 50 programs. Ms. Redsky also served as Project Director of the National Task Force on Sex Trafficking of Women and Girls in Canada. The Task Force works with international partners to develop a strategy and recommendations, targeting such issues as what make victims vulnerable to sex trafficking. She has also been a driving force in developing resources for sexually exploited youth in Manitoba, including establishing a safe house and rural healing lodge. Ms. Redsky advocates tirelessly for programs and services that benefit Indigenous women, their families and communities. Recently, she was instrumental in bringing to Winnipeg Maori leaders from New Zealand, who gifted her with the responsibility to deliver and teach family group conferencing – an approach that heals the cycle of Indigenous family breakdown in the wake of residential schools and colonization. Since 1995, Ms. Redsky has headed her own consulting business, focusing on initiatives benefiting First Nations communities. She has received numerous awards, including the Leadership Award from the Joy Smith Foundation (2016) and the Order of Manitoba (2013). Ms. Redsky lives in Winnipeg.

Date modified:

Les récipiendaires de 2016

Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne »

Inspirantes, n’est-ce pas? Proposez une candidature!

Cecilia Benoit

Cecilia Benoit

Cecilia Benoit enseigne la sociologie à l’Université de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), où elle emploie son énergie et son savoir-faire au service de la justice sociale, en particulier l’avancement des droits sociaux des femmes et des filles. Membre de la Première Nation micmaque Qalipu, de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Mme Benoit a mené des recherches dans divers domaines, notamment : les droits sociaux des femmes; la santé des femmes autochtones; la profession de sage-femme et les soins de maternité; les inégalités en santé, ainsi que la consommation et l’abus d’alcool ou drogues. Avec plus de 200 publications à son actif (articles, livres, chapitres de livres et rapports gouvernementaux), elle a présenté nombre de communications et a exercé une influence considérable sur les politiques et les programmes à l’échelon local, provincial et national dans des domaines tels que : les services à l’intention des travailleuses du sexe, notamment celles qui consomment des drogues; la reconnaissance des sages-femmes et l’intégration du savoir autochtone à la formation des sages-femmes; les modèles non directifs d’intervention auprès des femmes autochtones en milieu urbain; et l’offre de services de santé intégrée aux jeunes de la rue et aux femmes enceintes aux prises avec une toxicomanie. Modèle inspirant, Mme Benoit a joué 40 fois le rôle de mentore auprès d’étudiants diplômés et, surtout, d’étudiantes diplômées qui mènent aujourd’hui des carrières fructueuses dans la fonction publique. Mme Benoit a reçu de nombreux prix d’excellence en recherche et distinctions en reconnaissance de son service au public, notamment le Prix pour l’étude du genre de la Société royale du Canada, le Prix du leadership de Recherche Canada et le Community Achievement Award de la Colombie-Britannique. Mme Benoit habite à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.

Anna-Louise Crago

Anna-Louise Crago

Pour Anna-Louise Crago, le chemin vers l’égalité des sexes passe par l’inclusion, et elle s’y consacre avec courage et intégrité, au Canada et à l’étranger. Dans ses études en anthropologie comme dans ses initiatives de défense des droits de la personne, la doctorante de l’Université de Toronto puise largement dans son vécu de travailleuse du sexe. Elle compte une vingtaine d’années d’expérience dans la défense des droits, le travail social et la recherche dans la rue et le milieu prostitutionnel, comme membre ou partenaire de ce milieu. En 2006, pendant qu’elle coordonnait les services sociaux et services de santé Chez Stella (un organisme montréalais créé par et pour des travailleuses du sexe), elle a reçu avec ses collègues le Prix de l’Action contre le VIH/sida et pour les droits humains de Human Rights Watch. Mme Crago a documenté les violations des droits fondamentaux des travailleuses et travailleurs du sexe dans plus de 25 pays. Elle est l’auteure principale d’un rapport sur la violence qui leur est infligée par l’État en Europe et en Asie centrales, rapport novateur qui, selon Human Rights Watch, deviendra un catalyseur pour les organismes de protection des droits de la personne. En 2013, Mme Crago a reçu une prestigieuse bourse de la Fondation Pierre Elliott Trudeau afin de poursuivre sa recherche doctorale sur la violence vécue par les travailleuses du sexe lors du conflit armé en République démocratique du Congo. Ses travaux ont notamment conduit à la modification d’approches nationales en matière de lutte contre le VIH à l’étranger, assurant que des milliers de travailleuses du sexe bénéficient elles aussi des traitements et de la prévention; ils ont aussi contribué à réduire la violence envers ces personnes et à atténuer les ravages de la criminalisation.

Lucia Lorenzi

Lucia Lorenzi

Lucia Lorenzi milite avec un zèle infatigable pour l’égalité des sexes au Canada. Titulaire d’un doctorat en littérature anglaise de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (2016), elle a organisé pendant ses études diverses activités sur le campus de cette université pour contrer la culture du viol, le harcèlement et la misogynie; elle est devenue une interlocutrice incontournable dans la conversation nationale concernant la violence sur les campus. Survivante d’agression sexuelle, elle a témoigné de son vécu en acceptant de montrer sa vulnérabilité, cela, dans le but d’éduquer, mais aussi de susciter entre les victimes et la communauté un dialogue pour conduire à l’élaboration de stratégies qui contribuent à créer des milieux accueillants et sécuritaires pour les femmes. Son engagement contre la violence sexuelle a pris différentes formes, notamment : comme membre d’un conseil consultatif mis sur pied par l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique pour revoir ses politiques, comme collaboratrice de l’organisme EVA BC et comme rédactrice d’un guide de déclaration des agressions pour femisto (un organisme féministe basé à Toronto). Mme Lorenzi sait bien tirer parti des médias sociaux pour sensibiliser le public aux enjeux contemporains de l’égalité entre les sexes, en particulier la culture du viol et la violence fondée sur le sexe; il n’est pas rare que son contenu connaisse un succès viral. Dans ses écrits, elle fait entendre une voix distinctive, galvanisée par l’espoir de réussir à changer l’univers numérique, où la misogynie est une réalité quotidienne. Mmee Lorenzi a reçu un financement du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines pour ses recherches sur la violence sexualisée et genrée. Elle travaille maintenant à titre d’universitaire et de consultante indépendante. Mme Lorenzi habite à Port Coquitlam, en Colombie-Britannique.

Pascale Navarro

Pascale Navarro croit que la solidarité féminine peut changer le monde, et elle est déterminée à le prouver. Journaliste, auteure ou coauteure d’innombrables publications (livres, articles, scénarios) et productions, Mme Navarro se passionne pour la question féminine, les réalisations des femmes et la gamme des enjeux qui ont trait à l’égalité entre les sexes, incluant la pornographie, la discrimination systémique et l’accès au pouvoir. Elle aime aller au fond des choses et sait transmettre avec passion ses connaissances, ses idées et ses opinions, en s’appuyant sur des recherches approfondies, de même qu’en tirant parti de différents médias pour rejoindre toutes les sphères de la société. Au cours des 25 dernières années, Mme Navarro a collaboré à plusieurs périodiques canadiens, notamment La Gazette des femmes, La Presse et Le Devoir. Féministe de longue date, elle emploie ses convictions et son savoir-faire à plaider pour l’avancement des femmes. Son récent livre, Femmes et pouvoir : les changements nécessaires, est un plaidoyer pour la parité femmes-hommes en politique; il représente l’aboutissement de plusieurs années de recherches intensives sur le terrain et a nécessité de multiples voyages à l’étranger. Mme Navarro œuvre aussi comme bénévole dans plusieurs organismes, elle a notamment siégé au comité de sélection du prix Femmes de mérite du Y des femmes de Montréal et œuvre aujourd’hui comme administratrice du groupe Femmes, Politique et Démocratie, au Québec. Elle est aussi engagée auprès des étudiantes en journalisme et en littérature, tout comme elle échange régulièrement avec de nombreux groupes et assemblées de femmes, sur les différentes stratégies à adopter pour que la société intègre l’égalité des genres. Elle a reçu plusieurs distinctions, notamment le Prix Roseline-Ledoux, le Prix de la Société des écrivains canadiens et le prix Femmes de mérite du Y des femmes de Montréal. Mme Navarro habite à Montréal.

Norma Jean Profitt

Norma Jean Profitt

Norma Jean Profitt a poursuivi sans relâche deux buts connexes : faire avancer l’égalité des sexes et mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Sa carrière universitaire inclut des recherches déterminantes sur la violence faite aux femmes et la protection de l’enfance. Conjuguant la théorie et la pratique, elle a su exercer une influence sur les décisionnaires et sur l’enseignement pour créer des changements durables. Son travail communautaire en Nouvelle-Écosse (à Halifax et dans les régions rurales) et au Nouveau-Brunswick a touché un éventail d’enjeux : amélioration de l’accès des femmes aux services en tenant compte des enjeux de santé mentale, des dépendances et des violences sexuelles, services de proximité pour les victimes de violence familiale, services d’hébergement de transition et services aux nouvelles arrivantes. Durant ses années d’enseignement, Mme Profitt a misé sur les échanges interculturels et l’innovation pour instaurer des pratiques de travail social positives, axées sur les femmes. Par exemple, elle a invité des femmes vivant dans la pauvreté à venir parler en classe de leur vécu. Véritable bâtisseuse de communauté, Mme Profitt travaille directement avec les femmes pour susciter des changements transformateurs dans des milieux d’une grande diversité. À ce chapitre, il faut notamment souligner le cadre de lutte contre la violence fondée sur le sexe qu’elle a mis au point au Costa Rica. Il s’en est suivi une vague d’action et de sensibilisation (ateliers, groupes d’entraide, réseautage, création de documentation, action sociale, etc.), ainsi que la tenue de la toute première marche nationale contre la violence faite aux femmes à San José, capitale du pays. Auteure de nombreux articles et publications, et conférencière fort appréciée, Mme Profitt habite en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Diane Redsky

Diane Redsky

Fière maman de trois enfants, kookum (grand-maman) et membre de la Première Nation Shoal Lake No 40, Diane Redsky se consacre à l’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes et à l’amélioration de la condition des femmes autochtones. Penseuse visionnaire et chef de file respectée, elle dirige le Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre, plus grand organisme à but non lucratif dirigé par des Autochtones au Manitoba. Le centre offre une cinquantaine de programmes et emploie plus de 250 Autochtones, épaulés par quelque 750 bénévoles. Mme Redsky a aussi été directrice de projet pour le Groupe de travail national sur la traite des filles et des femmes au Canada. Mis sur pied par la Fondation canadienne des femmes, le groupe travaille avec des partenaires internationaux à formuler une stratégie et des recommandations pour influer sur les facteurs de vulnérabilité des victimes. C’est sous l’impulsion de Mme Redsky que le Manitoba a créé des ressources à l’intention des jeunes victimes d’exploitation sexuelle, y compris une maison d’hébergement et un pavillon de ressourcement en milieu rural. Mme Redsky réclame continuellement des programmes et services pour améliorer le bien-être des femmes, des familles et des collectivités autochtones. Récemment, elle a joué un rôle déterminant dans la venue de chefs maoris de Nouvelle-Zélande à Winnipeg et a reçu d’eux la responsabilité d’expliquer la concertation familiale — une démarche de guérison visant à rompre le cycle d’éclatement des familles causé par les pensionnats et la colonisation. Depuis 1995, elle dirige sa propre entreprise de services-conseils, spécialisée dans les initiatives qui profitent aux collectivités des Premières Nations du Manitoba. Elle a reçu de nombreux prix, y compris le Leadership Award de la Joy Smith Foundation (2016) et l’Ordre du Manitoba (2013). Mme Redsky habite à Winnipeg.

Date de modification :