What is GBA+?

Gender-based Analysis Plus

Have you or someone you know taken parental leave, been treated for heart disease, immigrated to Canada or used a Primary Inspection Kiosk upon returning to Canada at one of our major airports? These are examples of areas where the Government of Canada has used Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) to explore the changing realities and inequalities of diverse groups of people.

What is GBA+?

GBA+ is an analytical tool used to assess how diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. The “plus” in GBA+ acknowledges that GBA goes beyond biological (sex) and socio-cultural (gender) differences. We all have multiple identity factors that intersect to make us who we are; GBA+ also considers many other identity factors, like race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability.

GBA+ Logo

For more information about identity factors go to Government of Canada’s Approach, or take the Introduction to GBA+ online course.

GBA+ and gender equality

In 1995, the Government of Canada committed to using GBA+ to advance gender equality in Canada, as part of the ratification of the United Nations’ Beijing Platform for Action.

Gender equality is enshrined in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which is part of the Constitution of Canada. Gender equality means that diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people are able to participate fully in all spheres of Canadian life, contributing to an inclusive and democratic society.

The Government recently renewed its commitment to GBA+ and is working to strengthen its implementation across all federal departments.

To learn more about the Government’s renewed commitment, including its response to the 2015 Report of the Auditor General of Canada “Implementing Gender-based Analysis”, view the:

GBA+ Logo

Action Plan on Gender-based Analysis (2016-2020)
View the Action Plan in HTML
View the Action Plan in PDF

Achieving gender equality depends on closing key gaps between diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people.

For more information about the history of GBA+ in Canada, see The history of GBA+ module of the Introduction to GBA+ online course.

Mythbusters

1. Myth: Women and men are already equal in Canada, so GBA+ is not needed.

While many advances have been made, significant equality gaps remain. Today, women in Canada who work full-time earn on average only 87 cents to every dollar earned by men (Statistics Canada, 2017). Women are also more often the victims of domestic and sexual violence. They also continue to be under-represented in leadership and executive positions, occupying just 21.6% of board positions in Canada’s top 500 corporations (Canada Board Diversity Council 2016 Report Card).

Gender equality benefits everyone in a society, and GBA+ can improve the situations of women, men and gender-diverse people. For example, in the same way that women were left out of heart disease research because it was seen as a “man’s disease,” men have historically been overlooked in osteoporosis research. While osteoporosis is often considered a disease of post-menopausal women, men actually account for nearly a third of osteoporosis-related hip fractures.

2. Myth: GBA+ only applies to women’s issues – it is advocacy for women.

GBA+ is not advocacy. It is an analytical tool designed to help us ask questions, challenge assumptions and identify potential impacts, taking into account the diversity of Canadians.

In addition to sex and gender, GBA+ considers all identity factors, such as race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental and physical disability. Once an issue has undergone the GBA+ process, gender may emerge as the most important factor, while in other cases it might be any or a combination of factors that influence a person’s experience of a government policy, program or initiative.

Your department’s mandate could also impact your entry point for GBA+. You might begin with ethnicity, or with (dis)ability. Regardless of entry point, however, every human cell has a sex and every person is gendered, and sex and gender must not be neglected in your analysis.

3. Myth: GBA+ only applies to the “social” sectors.

All government policies and programs affect people. While gender and diversity issues may be more obvious in some areas, such as education and health, and less obvious in others, such as natural resources and defence, this does not necessarily mean that gender is not relevant. GBA+ can and has been used in all federal sectors and domains. For example, using GBA+ to assess large-scale procurement projects can help to ensure that equipment and products meet diverse needs. It can also help to ensure that the economic benefits are experienced by more diverse people.

Date modified:

Qu’est-ce que L’ACS+?

L'analyse comparative entre les sexes plus

Comptez-vous parmi les personnes qui ont déjà pris un congé parental, qui ont immigré au Canada, qui ont utilisé une borne d’inspection primaire en revenant au pays dans l’un de nos grands aéroports ou qui ont été traitées pour une maladie du cœur? Voilà des domaines où le gouvernement du Canada a utilisé l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) afin d’explorer la réalité changeante et les inégalités que vivent diverses populations.

Qu’est-ce que l’ACS+?

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) sert à évaluer les répercussions potentielles des politiques, des programmes ou des initiatives sur divers ensembles de personnes — femmes, hommes ou autres. L’identité individuelle est déterminée par une multitude de facteurs en plus du sexe, par exemple la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle. D’où l’ajout du mot « plus », signifiant que l’analyse ne se limite pas au sexe (différences biologiques) ou au genre (la construction sociale du sexe), mais considère aussi les autres facteurs qui les recoupent.

Logo de l'ACS+

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs identitaires, veuillez consulter l’approche du gouvernement du Canada ou suivre le cybercours Introduction à l’ACS+.

L’ACS+ et l’égalité des sexes

En 1995, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à utiliser l’ACS+ pour faire avancer l’égalité entre les sexes au Canada dans le cadre de la ratification de Programme d’action de Beijing, des Nations Unies.

Le principe de l’égalité entre les sexes est inscrit dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, laquelle fait partie intégrante de la Constitution du Canada. Cette égalité signifie que toute personne, soit-elle femme, homme ou allosexuelle, est libre de participer à toutes les sphères de la vie canadienne et d’ainsi contribuer à l’édification d’une société ouverte et démocratique.

Le gouvernement a récemment renouvelé son engagement envers l’ACS+ et s’efforce de promouvoir l’utilisation de cet outil dans l’ensemble des ministères fédéraux.

Pour en apprendre plus sur le renouvellement de l’engagement du gouvernement et sa réponse au rapport du vérificateur général de 2015 La mise en œuvre de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, consultez le document qui suit :

GBA+ Logo

Plan d’action sur l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (2016-2020)
Visualiser le Plan d’action en HTML
Visualiser le Plan d’action en PDF

La réalisation de l’égalité entre les sexes passe par l’élimination de tous les désavantages genrés, non seulement ceux qui touchent les femmes d’horizons divers, mais aussi ceux que vivent les personnes allosexuelles.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'historique de l’ACS+ au Canada, veuillez consulter le module Historique de l’ACS+ du cybercours Introduction à l’ACS+.

Dégonfler les mythes

1. Mythe : Les Canadiennes sont les égales des Canadiens, donc l'ACS+ est inutile.

Bien que de nombreux progrès aient été accomplis en matière d’égalité, d’importants écarts persistent. Aujourd’hui, les Canadiennes qui travaillent à temps plein ne gagnent en moyenne que 87 % du salaire de leurs homologues masculins (Statistique Canada, 2017). Les femmes sont aussi plus souvent victimes de violence sexuelle et familiale. Elles demeurent sous-représentées au sein de la haute direction et, de façon plus générale, dans les postes de pouvoir et de direction, n’occupant que 21,6 % des sièges aux conseils d’administration des 500 plus grandes sociétés canadiennes (Bulletin de rendement annuel 2016, Conseil canadien pour la diversité administrative).

L’égalité entre les sexes bénéficie à l’ensemble de la société, et l’ACS+ peut améliorer la situation des femmes, des hommes et des personnes allosexuelles. Par exemple, tout comme on écartait jadis les femmes de la recherche sur les maladies du cœur parce que celles-ci étaient vues comme des maladies d’« homme », les hommes l’ont été de la recherche sur l’ostéoporose, souvent considérée comme une maladie touchant seulement les femmes post-ménopausées. Pourtant, le fait est que les hommes subissent environ le tiers des fractures du col du fémur liées à l’ostéoporose.

2. Mythe : L'ACS+ ne sert qu’à défendre les femmes et leurs intérêts.

L’ACS+ n’est pas une forme de militantisme. Il s’agit d’une méthode d’analyse qui sert à poser des questions, à remettre en question les idées préconçues et à cerner les répercussions potentielles des initiatives compte tenu de la diversité de la population canadienne.

Outre le sexe et le genre, ACS+ tient compte de tous les autres facteurs qui façonnent l’identité d’une personne, dont sa race et, le cas échéant, son handicap. L’ACS+ révélera parfois que c’est le genre et parfois un autre facteur ou une combinaison de facteurs qui détermine l’effet qu’aura une politique, un programme ou une initiative du gouvernement sur telle ou telle personne.

Le mandat de votre ministère pourrait également déterminer quand entreprendre une ACS+. Vous pourriez commencer par l’ethnicité ou les handicaps. Qu’importe votre point d’entrée, chaque cellule humaine a un sexe et chaque personne a un genre; aussi votre analyse ne doit-elle négliger ni l’un ni l’autre.

3. Mythe : L’ACS+ s’applique uniquement aux secteurs « sociaux ».

Toutes les politiques et tous les programmes du gouvernement ont des répercussions sur la population. Si le genre et la diversité vont davantage de soi dans certains domaines (tels que l’éducation et la santé) que dans d’autres (tels que la défense ou l’exploitation des richesses naturelles), cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu’il ne faille pas en tenir compte. ACS+ peut et est de fait utilisée dans tous les secteurs et domaines fédéraux. Par exemple, son application aux projets d’approvisionnement de grande envergure peut garantir le choix d’équipement et de produits répondant à la diversité des besoins. Elle peut aussi contribuer à faire en sorte que les retombées économiques de ces projets profitent à une plus grande variété de personnes.

Date de modification :