Legal Instruments of Equality for Women

A number of legal instruments exist in Canada for equality for women. At the federal level, the following apply:

The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms provides the constitutional protection of individual human rights. The Charter applies to relationships between an individual and government, while relationships between individuals are covered in certain areas by the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA) and provincial and territorial human rights legislation.

Section 15 of the Charter ensures the equal protection and equal benefit of the law "without discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability." Court decisions have expanded this list to prohibit discrimination on other grounds, such as citizenship, marital status and sexual orientation, and have recognized that multiple grounds of discrimination may intersect in particular cases. Section 28 guarantees that all rights covered in the Charter apply equally to men and women.

The CHRA, 1977, states that all Canadians have the right to equality, equal opportunity, fair treatment, and an environment free of discrimination on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, marital status and family status, in employment and the provision of goods, services, facilities or accommodation within federal jurisdiction. The CHRAcreated the Canadian Human Rights Commission to investigate and settle complaints of discrimination, and refer them to the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal for adjudication.

The following legislative acts might also be of particular interest to women and equality rights:

For more information about the history of women's rights, please visit the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

Date modified:

Instruments juridiques garantissant l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes

Le Canada s'est doté d'un certain nombre d'instruments juridiques pour garantir l'égalité entre les sexes. Voici ceux qui s'appliquent dans la sphère fédérale :

La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés établit la protection constitutionnelle des droits individuels. La Charte s'applique aux rapports entre une personne et l'état. Les rapports entre les personnes relèvent, dans certains domaines, de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne ou des mesures législatives adoptées par les provinces et territoires pour protéger les droits de la personne.

Aux termes de l'article 15 de la Charte, toute personne a droit à la même protection et au même bénéfice de la loi, « indépendamment de toute discrimination fondée sur la race, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, le sexe, l'âge ou les déficiences mentales ou physiques ». Dans leurs décisions, les tribunaux ont étoffé cette liste afin d'interdire la discrimination fondée sur d'autres motifs, comme la citoyenneté, l'état matrimonial et l'orientation sexuelle, et ont reconnu que les motifs multiples de discrimination peuvent s'intersecter dans certains dossiers. L'article 28 de la Charte garantit que tous les droits énoncés dans la Charte visent les personnes des deux sexes.

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne de 1977 garantit à toutes les Canadiennes et à tous les Canadiens l'égalité des chances, un traitement équitable et un environnement exempt de discrimination fondée sur le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, l'état matrimonial et la situation familiale. La loi interdit en outre les actes discriminatoires dans l'emploi, la fourniture de biens ou de services, les installations ou l'hébergement dans les domaines de compétence fédérale. Elle a en outre créé la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, qui enquête sur les plaintes de discrimination et les règle ou les transmet au Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne afin qu'il statue.

Les lois ci-dessous présentent aussi un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les questions d'égalité entre les sexes :

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'histoire des droits des femmes, consultez le site de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Date de modification :