Deputy Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie

On September 23, 2019, Guylaine F. Roy became Deputy Minister for Women and Gender Equality in addition to her current role as Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie.

Previously, from May 2017 to August 2018, she was the Associate Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage. She joined Canadian Heritage in September 2011 as the Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs Sector. In this role, she was responsible for policies and programs related to the arts, cultural industries, copyright legislation and international trade policy, broadcasting and digital communications, the TV5 program, and federal/provincial relations in the cultural sector. She was also responsible for the application of the Investment Canada Act to the cultural sector.

Before joining Canadian Heritage, Guylaine was Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy at Transport Canada. She served in this capacity from 2007 to 2011, providing advice on a range of policy files related to transportation efficiency, competitiveness, environmental sustainability and integration across all modes of transportation.

From 2006 to 2007, in her role as Director General, Environmental Affairs at Transport, Guylaine was responsible for both policies and programs related to transportation and the environment. From 2000 to 2006, in her capacity as Director General, Surface Policy, she was responsible for economic policies related to rail, motor carriers, highways, borders and intelligent transportation systems.

Prior to joining Transport Canada, Guylaine held positions as legal counsel with the Department of Justice Canada, Correctional Service Canada and the Privy Council Office. From 1996 to 1998, she held the position of Executive Assistant to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet.

Guylaine has a Bachelor's Degree in Law from Université Laval in Québec and has been a federal public servant since 1986. She was a member of the Quebec Bar from 1986 to 2013.

Deputy Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie
Date modified:

Sous-ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres et sous-ministre du Tourisme, des Langues officielles et de la Francophonie

Guylaine F. Roy est devenue sous-ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres, en plus de son poste actuel de sous-ministre du Tourisme, des Langues officielles et de la Francophonie le 23 septembre 2019.

Au préalable, de mai 2017 à août 2018, Guylaine était sous-ministre déléguée du Patrimoine canadien. Elle était entrée au service de Patrimoine canadien en septembre 2011 en qualité de sous-ministre adjointe, Secteur des affaires culturelles. À ce titre, elle était chargée des politiques et des programmes liés aux arts, aux industries culturelles, à la Loi sur le droit d'auteur et à la politique sur le commerce international, à la radiodiffusion et aux communications numériques, au programme de TV5 et aux relations fédérales-provinciales dans le secteur culturel. Elle était également responsable de l'application de la Loi sur Investissement Canada au secteur culturel.

Avant de se joindre à Patrimoine canadien, Guylaine était sous-ministre adjointe déléguée, Politiques, à Transports Canada. À ce titre, de 2007 à 2011, elle donnait des conseils sur divers dossiers de politique axés sur l'efficacité, la compétitivité, la durabilité environnementale et l'intégration du transport dans tous les modes de transport.

De 2006 à 2007, en tant que directrice générale, Affaires environnementales, à Transports Canada, Guylaine veillait aux politiques et aux programmes liés au transport et à l'environnement.

De 2000 à 2006, à titre de directrice générale, Politiques des transports terrestres, Guylaine était chargée des politiques économiques relatives au transport ferroviaire, au transport routier, aux autoroutes, aux frontières et aux systèmes de transport intelligents.

Avant son arrivée à Transports Canada, Guylaine a travaillé à titre de conseillère juridique au ministère de la Justice Canada, au Service correctionnel Canada et au Bureau du Conseil privé. De 1996 à 1998, elle a été adjointe de direction auprès du greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet.

Guylaine est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Laval à Québec et est fonctionnaire fédérale depuis 1986. Mme Roy a été membre du Barreau du Québec de 1986 à 2013.

Sous-ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres et Sous-ministre du Tourisme, des Langues officielles et de la Francophonie
Date de modification :