Who we are

Raison d’être

The Department for Women and Gender Equality works to advance gender equality through an intersectional gendered lens. Working in partnership with key stakeholders, including civil society organizations, labour groups, the private sector, other orders of government, and First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples, the Department actively promotes the inclusion of all people in Canada’s economic, social, and political life. The Department for Women and Gender Equality works to uphold its mandate to advance gender equality by performing a central coordination function within the Government of Canada by developing and implementing policies, providing grants and contributions, delivering programs, investing in research, and providing advice to achieve equality for people of all genders, including women.

Our History

Since 1971, there has been a Minister responsible for the Status of Women. The Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women, was initially established in the Privy Council Office in response to a recommendation contained in the report of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women in 1970.

The Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women, became a departmental agency of the federal government on April 1, 1976.

In December 2018, new legislation created the Department for Women and Gender Equality, transforming the former Status of Women Canada into an official department of the Government of Canada. This change modernizes and formalizes, in law, the roles of the Minister and the Department.

Our Mandate

The mandate of the Department is to advance equality with respect to sex, sexual orientation, and gender identity or expression through the inclusion of people of all genders, including women, in Canada’s economic, social, and political life. This application of a gender and diversity lens will help us to understand better the intersection of sex and gender with other identity factors. These factors include – but are not limited to – race, national and ethnic origin, Indigenous origin or identity, age, sexual orientation, socio-economic condition, place of residence and disability.

Our Vision

A Canada where people of all genders, including women, are equal in every way and can achieve their full potential.

Date modified:

Qui nous sommes

Raison d’être

Le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres travaille à faire progresser l’égalité des genres au moyen d’une perspective sur les genres et les recoupements qui y sont associés. En partenariat avec les principales parties prenantes, y compris les organisations de la société civile, les groupes syndicaux, le secteur privé, les autres ordres de gouvernement, et les Premières nations, les Inuits et les peuples métis, le ministère promulgue activement l’inclusion de toutes les personnes à la vie économique, sociale et politique du Canada. Le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres s’efforce de remplir son mandat d’avancement de l’égalité des genres en assurant une fonction de coordination centrale au sein du gouvernement du Canada, notamment par l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de politiques, l’octroi de subventions et de contributions, l’exécution de programmes, l’investissement dans la recherche et la formulation d’avis dans le but d’atteindre l’égalité pour les personnes de tous les genres, y compris les femmes.

Notre histoire

Depuis 1971, il existe un poste de ministre responsable de la Condition féminine. Le poste de coordonnatrice de la Condition féminine a été créé à l'origine au Bureau du Conseil privé, à la suite d'une recommandation formulée en 1970 par la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme.

Le 1er avril 1976, le Bureau de la coordonnatrice de la Condition féminine est devenu un organisme indépendant au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

En décembre 2018, une nouvelle loi a créé le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres, transformant Condition féminine Canada en un ministère officiel du gouvernement du Canada. Ce changement modernise et formalise, de façon législative, les rôles de la ministre et du Ministère.

Notre mandat

Le mandat du Ministère est de faire avancer l’égalité en ce qui concerne le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité ou l’expression de genre par l’inclusion des personnes de tous les genres, y compris les femmes, à la vie économique, sociale et politique du Canada. La mise en œuvre d’une perspective axée sur le genre et la diversité nous aidera à mieux comprendre les recoupements entre le sexe, le genre et d’autres facteurs identitaires. Ces facteurs comprennent notamment (mais sans s’y limiter) la race, l’origine nationale, ethnique ou autochtone, l’âge, l’orientation sexuelle, la condition socioéconomique, le lieu de résidence et les handicaps.

Notre vision

Un Canada où les personnes de tous les genres, y compris les femmes, sont égales à tout point de vue et peuvent réaliser leur plein potentiel.

Date de modification :