2020 International Women’s Day theme: #BecauseOfYou

Empowering women and girls to equally participate in economic, social and political life benefits people of all genders. It increases economic prosperity, promotes peace and security, upholds fairness and justice in our society, and ultimately creates happier and healthier communities.

This International Women’s Day we are shining a light on grassroots efforts to advance gender equality in communities across the country and honouring Canadians who are finding powerful ways, both big and small, to drive positive change right at the source.

Join us in celebrating this year’s theme #BecauseOfYou, which pays tribute to the diverse and inspirational gender equality change-makers we know in our own lives.

This International Women’s Day:

Social media shareables

Christine Sinclair International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Christine Sinclair” appears in teal green followed by her quote "Growing up, the National Women’s Soccer Team wasn’t well known — now girls dream of playing for Canada. As teammates across this country, let’s invest in equal participation everywhere. We train for societal excellence the same way we train for the Olympics: through practice, perseverance, and participation." To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Christine Sinclair. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

LGen Chris Whitecross International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “LGen Chris Whitecross” appears in teal green followed by her quote “If being true to yourself, having confidence in what you do, and knowing you matter, makes us trailblazers – then bring it on! #IWD.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of LGen Chris Whitecross. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Kathryn Foss International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Kathryn Foss” appears in teal green followed by her quote “Breaking gender barriers benefits not only women, but all of humanity. Inclusive culture encourages respect for individual differences where unique perspectives bring strength, understanding and compassion to the world.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Kathryn Foss. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Ann Divine International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Ann Divine” appears in teal green followed by her quote “My wish is for all women, girls and others in my circle to blaze that trail, creating light on the path for all to walk through carrying our unique selves.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Ann Divine. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Dr. Alaa Murabit International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Dr. Alaa Murabit” appears in teal green followed by her quote “Although women remain the most undervalued global economic asset, equally employing them would boost our GDP by $150 billion by 2026. IWD recognizes that opportunities, pay, and work conditions for women and girls must improve to achieve real economic power and equality.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Dr. Alaa Murabit. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Dr. Donna Strickland International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Dr. Donna Strickland” appears in teal green followed by her quote “Let’s all encourage young people to find a career based on what they love, regardless of their gender. When we all do what we enjoy, we will do our best.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Dr. Donna Strickland. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Raven Lacerte International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Raven Lacerte” appears in teal green followed by her quote “Women have so much strength, power, and wisdom. Centering and celebrating strong women is so important to inspire other young girls to be whoever they want and achieve anything they dream of.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Raven Lacerte. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Dr. Mona Nemer International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Dr. Mona Nemer” appears in teal green followed by her quote “We need more mentors! Mentors were instrumental to me throughout my career. They guided my personal and professional development and helped me realize that being a successful scientist is compatible with being a woman too.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Dr. Mona Nemer. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Senator Chantal Petitclerc International Women’s Day 2020 social media shareable
Accessible version of the image

The social media shareable has a white background with three overlapping circles in light shades of teal green, yellow-green and orange. The hashtag “Because Of You” is written in teal green on the top left corner. Below it, “Sen. Chantal Petitclerc” appears in teal green followed by her quote “When it comes to equality, the battle is far from over. Here, like everywhere else in the world, equality remains a significant issue. Actions are stronger than words.” To the right of the quote is a pencil-effect portrait of Senator Chantal Petitclerc. “International Women’s Day” and “March 8, 2020” appear in black on the bottom left. Just underneath is the Women and Gender Equality Canada departmental identifier in the bottom left corner in black. The Canada wordmark appears in black in the bottom right corner.

Date modified:

Le thème de l’année 2020 pour la Journée internationale des femmes : #GrâceàVous

L’autonomisation des femmes et des filles en vue de leur assurer une participation égale à la vie économique, sociale et politique offre d’importants avantages aux personnes de tous genres. Elle accroît la prospérité économique, favorise la paix et la sécurité, soutient l’équité et la justice dans notre société et, enfin, crée des communautés plus heureuses et plus saines.

Cette année, nous mettons en lumière les initiatives populaires qui permettent de faire progresser l’égalité des genres au sein des collectivités partout au pays. Nous rendons également hommage aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens qui posent des gestes significatifs, qu’ils soient petits ou grands, pour favoriser un changement positif à la source.

Joignez-vous à nous pour souligner le thème de cette année, #GrâceàVous, qui rend hommage à toutes les personnes inspirantes qui assurent un changement en matière d’égalité des genres et qui font partie de nos vies. 

À l’occasion de cette Journée internationale des femmes :

Éléments à partager sur les médias sociaux

Vignette partageable de Christine Sinclair pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Christine Sinclair » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Quand j’étais enfant, l’équipe nationale féminine de football n’était pas très connue; maintenant, les filles rêvent de jouer pour le Canada. En tant que coéquipières à l’échelle nationale, investissons dans une participation égale partout. Nous nous entraînons pour atteindre l’excellence sociétale de la même manière que nous nous entraînons pour les Jeux olympiques : à force d’entraînement, de persévérance et de participation. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Christine Sinclair. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Lgén Chris Whitecross pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Lgén Chris Whitecross » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Si être honnête envers soi-même, avoir confiance en ce que l’on fait et avoir la conviction qu’on a de l’importance fait de nous des pionnières, alors j’embarque! #JIF » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Lgén Chris Whitecross. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Kathryn Foss pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Kathryn Foss » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Faire tomber les barrières est profitable non seulement pour les femmes, mais pour toute l’humanité. La culture inclusive favorise le respect des différences individuelles où les points de vue uniques sont vecteurs de force, de compréhension et de compassion dans le monde. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Kathryn Foss. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable d’Ann Divine pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Ann Divine » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Je fais le vœu que toutes les femmes, les filles et tous les gens de mon entourage tracent la voie, éclairant le chemin pour les personnes qui marchent dans leurs pas, qui sont elles-mêmes et revendiquent leur unicité. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon d’Ann Divine. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Dre Alaa Murabit pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Dre Alaa Murabit » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Bien que les femmes restent l’atout économique mondial le plus sous-estimé, les employer autant que les hommes permettrait d’augmenter notre PIB de 150 milliards de dollars d’ici 2026. La JIF souligne l’importance d’améliorer les possibilités, les salaires et les conditions de travail des femmes et des filles si nous voulons parvenir à un pouvoir économique et une égalité réels. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Dre Alaa Murabit. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Dre Donna Strickland pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Dre Donna Strickland » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Encourageons les jeunes personnes à choisir leur carrière en fonction de ce qu’elles aiment et non de leur genre. Nous réussissons mieux lorsque nous faisons ce que nous aimons. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Dre Donna Strickland. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Raven Lacerte pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Raven Lacerte » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Les femmes possèdent tellement de force, de pouvoir et de sagesse. Mettre en lumière et célébrer les femmes fortes est tellement important pour inspirer d’autres jeunes femmes à être tout ce qu’elles souhaitent devenir et à réaliser leurs rêves. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Raven Lacerte. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de Dre Mona Nemer pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Dre Mona Nemer » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Nous avons besoin de plus de mentorat! Le mentorat a joué un rôle essentiel dans ma carrière. Les mentors ont guidé mon développement personnel et professionnel et m’ont aidée à réaliser qu’être une scientifique de renom est compatible avec le fait d’être une femme aussi. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de Dre Mona Nemer. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Vignette partageable de la sénatrice Chantal Petitclerc pour la Journée internationale des femmes 2020
Version accessible de l'image

Cette vignette partageable a un fond blanc avec trois cercles superposés de couleur bleue sarcelle, jaune-vert et orange. Le mot-clic « Grâce À Vous » est écrit en bleu sarcelle au coin supérieur gauche. Sous le mot-clic se retrouve le nom « Sén. Chantal Petitclerc » écrit en bleu sarcelle suivi de sa citation « Quand il s’agit d’équité, la bataille est loin d’être gagnée. Ici comme partout sur la planète, l’équité reste un enjeu majeur. Il ne faut pas qu’en parler, il faut agir. » À la droite de la citation se retrouve le portrait dessiné au crayon de la sénatrice Chantal Petitclerc. « Journée internationale des femmes » et « Le 8 mars 2020 » sont écrits en noir dans le coin inférieur gauche. En dessous, il y a l’identificateur de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada en lettres noires. Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît en noir dans le coin droit.

Date de modification :