Gender equality trailblazers

This year we are highlighting Canadian gender equality change-makers who are making the world a better place by challenging cultural and societal norms, amplifying the voices of women and girls, and breaking barriers in their respective fields.

Join us in shining a light on the trailblazers! Follow our social media networks and the conversation online using the hashtag #BecauseOfYou.

Christine Sinclair

Decorated Canadian athlete in women’s soccer and record holder of all-time international goals scored

Sinclair first came to national prominence during the 2002 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Edmonton where she won the Golden Boot as the tournament’s leading scorer and the Golden Ball as tournament MVP. In 2011 she led Canada to gold at the Pan Am Games in Guadalajara. Sinclair has competed at three Olympic Games, winning back-to-back bronzes at London 2012 and Rio 2016. At London 2012, she was the tournament’s leading scorer. For her efforts, she was named Canada’s Closing Ceremony flag bearer and became the first soccer player to win the Lou Marsh Award as Canadian Athlete of the Year. Sinclair was named Canada Soccer’s Women’s Player of the Year 11 straight times from 2004 to 2014 and again in 2016 and 2018. She is a multiple time nominee for FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year. As of June 20, 2019, she has accumulated 182 career international goals, ranking her second all-time but first among active players. She was appointed as an Officer to the Order of Canada in 2018.

LGen Chris Whitecross

Highest ranking female as Lieutenant General in the Canadian Forces and first woman Commandant of the NATO Defence College in Rome, Italy

Lieutenant General Chris Whitecross enrolled in the Canadian Forces in 1982, joining the Canadian Military Engineers. Successive postings have taken her from Germany to almost every province in Canada. A Commander of the Order of Military Merit (CMM), she was awarded the United States Defense Meritorious Service Medal for her service at the International Security Assistance Force headquarters (ISAF HQ), and the Canadian Meritorious Service Medal for her service as the International Military Sports Council (CISM) Secretary General. Lieutenant General Whitecross was named one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women of 2011, and then again in 2016.

Lieutenant General Whitecross was promoted to her current rank on 26 May 2015. In February of that year, she was appointed Commander of the Canadian Forces Strategic Response Team on Sexual Misconduct. In June 2015, she was appointed Commander, Military Personnel Command. Lieutenant General Whitecross assumed her current duties, as Commandant of the NATO Defense College in Rome, Italy, in November 2016.

Kathryn Foss

Retired military officer and advocate for diversity and the LGBTQ2 Community

Major (Ret'd) Kathryn Foss CD BSc MEng (pronouns she/her), was a member of the Canadian Armed Forces from 1987 to 2019, having retired December 2019. She was employed with Director General Military Careers responding to Ministerial Inquiries. Foss is a transgender woman who began her transition in fall of 2016.

A kind and compassionate soul, her life journey over the past few years has given her front-line experience in the areas of diversity, inclusion and gender identity, and she speaks in these areas. She took part in the Government of Canada Positive Space Initiative “Train the trainer” course in October 2016, and she has used her training to provide advice and assistance to the production of diversity and transgender policy within the Canadian Armed Forces, notably as the founder of the Defence Team Pride Network.

Ann Divine

Nova Scotia businesswoman and advocate for Black and immigrant women in business

Born in 1957 in Guyana, Divine grew up in England, earned a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology, a post-graduate diploma in Social Work, and a Master’s in Human Resource Management, and worked as a social worker and probation officer before moving to Canada in 2004. Divine served with the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission from 2007 to 2014. A tireless and outspoken advocate for women, Divine is constantly innovating and adapting her services to meet the needs of her clients. She received unprecedented support for her work when Atlantic Business Magazine put her on the January 2017 cover of their first-ever issue devoted to women. Divine has received many prestigious awards and honours, including being one of My Halifax Experience’s Top Five Immigrant Women Influencers in 2018.

Dr. Alaa Murabit

Physician, UN Commissioner on Health Employment and Economic Growth and UN Sustainable Development Goal Advocate

Dr. Alaa Murabit is a physician, international advocate for inclusive peace processes, UN High-Level Commissioner on Health Employment and Economic Growth, and one of 17 UN-appointed Global Sustainable Development Goal Advocates. At 15, after finishing high school in Canada, Dr. Murabit moved to Zawia, Libya, enrolling in medical school. At 21, she founded The Voice of Libyan Women to promote women’s leadership and challenge cultural and societal norms. Dr. Murabit has earned numerous degrees and distinctions, including a “Forbes 30 under 30” recognition, a Nelson Mandela Changemaker Award and both Ashoka and MIT Media Lab Director’s Fellowships. She is recognized worldwide for her leadership on a wide range of issues, including women’s rights, global health policy, education, international security and sustainable development.

Dr. Donna Strickland

Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo, and 2018 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics

Dr. Donna Strickland is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo and is one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for developing chirped pulse amplification with Gérard Mourou, her PhD supervisor at the time. They published this Nobel-winning research in 1985 when Strickland was a PhD student at the University of Rochester in New York. Together they paved the way toward the most intense laser pulses ever created.

She is a recipient of a Sloan Research Fellowship, a Premier’s Research Excellence Award and a Cottrell Scholar Award. She served as the president of the Optical Society (OSA) in 2013 and is a fellow of OSA, the Royal Society of Canada, and SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics). Dr. Strickland is an honorary fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering as well as the Institute of Physics. She received the Golden Plate Award from the Academy of Achievement and holds numerous honorary doctorates. Dr. Strickland was appointed to the Order of Canada in December 2019.

Raven Lacerte

Carrier from Lake Babine First Nation, and Co-Founder and Youth Ambassador of the Moose Hide Campaign

Raven Lacerte is co-founder, with her father, Paul Lacerte, and youth ambassador for the Moose Hide Campaign, a national grassroots organization of men and women working together to end violence against women and children. A Carrier from the Lake Babine Nation in central British Columbia, Lacerte graduated from the Indigenous Studies Program at Camosun College and is now studying Political Science at the University of Victoria. Lacerte also serves as youth representative for the British Columbia Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation’s Advisory Council for Indigenous Women. She is also a member of the steering committee for the 4Rs National Youth Movement, a collaborative, youth-led initiative that seeks to connect Indigenous and non-Indigenous young people in a spirit of respect, reciprocity, reconciliation and relevance.

Dr. Mona Nemer

Chief Science Advisor of Canada, and advocate for women and girl’s education in science

Dr. Mona Nemer is Canada's Chief Science Advisor. She is also the former Vice-President, Research, at the University of Ottawa and Director of its Molecular Genetics and Cardiac Regeneration Laboratory. Born in Lebanon, Dr. Nemer grew up in Beirut. As a young student, she advocated to expand her school’s curriculum so girls could study science at higher levels, and went on to complete a PhD in chemistry at McGill University in 1982. The author of over 200 scientific journal articles, Dr. Nemer has contributed to the development of diagnostic tests for heart failure and the genetics of cardiac birth defects through her research. Dr. Nemer is the recipient of numerous honours and awards, including Member of the Order of Canada and Fellow of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada.

Senator Chantal Petitclerc

Member of the Senate of Canada for Quebec, and decorated Paralympic Champion

Chantal Petitclerc is a wheelchair racer, advocate for persons with disabilities and Canadian Senator. A native of rural Quebec, she was the first Canadian athlete to win gold medals at the Olympics, Paralympics and Commonwealth Games. After an accident left her a paraplegic in her teens, Senator Petitclerc discovered her competitive streak while swimming for fitness. As a wheelchair racer, she won 21 medals at five Paralympic Games from 1992 to 2008, including 14 gold medals, and broke 26 world records. She is considered the most decorated female track athlete in history. Senator Petitclerc has received many honours, including a star on the Canadian Walk of Fame and inclusion in Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. A Companion of the Order of Canada, she was named to the Senate of Canada in 2016.

Date modified:

Pionnières de l’égalité des genres

Cette année, nous rendons hommage aux agentes ou agents du changement en matière d’égalité des genres au Canada, qui font du monde un endroit meilleur en défiant les normes culturelles et sociales, en faisant entendre les voix des femmes et des filles et en éliminant les barrières dans leurs domaines respectifs.

Soyez des nôtres pour découvrir les pionnières! Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux et prenez part à la conversation en ligne en utilisant le mot-clic #GrâceÀVous.

Christine Sinclair

Athlète canadienne médaillée en soccer féminin et détentrice du record mondial du nombre de buts de tous les temps

Christine s’est fait connaître sur la scène nationale lors de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA des moins de 20 ans de 2002 à Edmonton où elle a gagné le soulier d’or remis à la meilleure marqueuse du tournoi, ainsi que le ballon d’or de la joueuse la plus utile du tournoi. En 2011, elle a mené le Canada à la médaille d’or des Jeux panaméricains de Guadalajara. Christine a participé à trois Jeux olympiques, remportant notamment deux fois de suite le bronze en 2012 à Londres et à Rio en 2016. Aux Jeux de Londres en 2012, elle a été couronnée meilleure buteuse du tournoi. En récompense pour ses efforts, elle a eu l’honneur de porter le drapeau du Canada lors de la cérémonie de clôture et est devenue la première joueuse de soccer à remporter le trophée Lou Marsh en tant qu’athlète canadienne de l’année. Christine a été nommée joueuse de l’année de Canada Soccer onze fois de suite, soit de 2004 à 2014, et encore en 2016 et en 2018. Pendant plusieurs années, elle a été en lice pour le titre de joueuse mondiale de la FIFA. En date du 20 juin 2019, elle avait accumulé 182 buts internationaux en carrière, ce qui la place au deuxième rang de tous les temps, mais au premier rang des joueuses et des joueurs actifs. Elle a reçu le titre honorifique d’Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 2018.

Lgén Chris Whitecross

La femme ayant le plus haut grade des officiers généraux des Forces canadiennes et première femme commandant du Collège de défense de l’OTAN à Rome, en Italie

Le lieutenant-général Chris Whitecross s’engage dans l’armée canadienne en 1982 et rejoint le génie militaire canadien. Ses fonctions d’état-major l’amènent en poste en Allemagne et dans presque toutes les provinces du Canada. Elle est officière de l’Ordre du mérite militaire et a reçu la médaille du service méritoire de la Défense américaine en reconnaissance de sa contribution à la Force internationale d'assistance et de sécurité (FIAS) ainsi que la médaille du service méritoire du Canada en reconnaissance de ses fonctions de secrétaire général du Conseil international du sport militaire (CISM). Le lieutenant-général Chris Whitecross figure sur la liste de 2011 et de 2016 des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada.

Le lieutenant-général Chris Whitecross est promue au grade de lieutenant-général le 26 mai 2015. En février de la même année, elle devient commandante de l’équipe d’intervention stratégique des forces armées canadiennes sur l’inconduite sexuelle. En juin 2015, elle est nommée commandant au commandement du personnel militaire. Le lieutenant-général Chris Whitecross prend ses fonctions de Commandante du Collège de Défense de l’OTAN à Rome (Italie) en novembre 2016.

Kathryn Foss

Militaire à la retraite, et défenseuse de la diversité et de la communauté LGBTQ2

Le major (retraitée) Kathryn Foss, CD B.Sc. M.Eng. (pronom « elle »), a été membre des forces armées canadiennes de 1987 à 2019, ayant pris sa retraite en décembre 2019. Elle a été employée par le Directeur général des carrières militaires en réponse aux demandes de renseignements ministérielles. Kathryn Foss est une femme transgenre qui a commencé sa transition à l’automne 2016.

Âme aimable et bienveillante, son parcours de vie des dernières années lui a permis d’acquérir une expérience de première ligne dans les domaines de la diversité, de l’inclusion et de l’identité de genre; et elle s’exprime dans ces domaines. Elle a participé au cours « Former le formateur » de l’initiative Espaces Positifs du gouvernement du Canada en octobre 2016, et a eu recours à ses connaissances pour fournir des conseils et de l’aide à l’établissement de la politique sur la diversité et de transgenre au sein des Forces armées canadiennes, notamment en tant que fondatrice du réseau de la Fierté de l’Équipe de la Défense.

Ann Divine

Femme d’affaires de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et défenseuse des femmes noires et immigrantes dans le milieu des affaires

Née en Guyana en 1957, Mme Divine a passé son enfance en Angleterre, obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en sociologie, un certificat d’études supérieures en travail social et une maitrise en gestion des ressources humaines, et elle a été travailleuse sociale et agente de probation avant d’immigrer au Canada en 2004. Mme Divine a siégé à la Commission des droits de la personne de la Nouvelle-Écosse de 2007 à 2014. Ardente et infatigable porte-parole pour les femmes, elle innove et adapte constamment ses services en réponse aux besoins de sa clientèle. En janvier 2017, son travail reçoit une reconnaissance sans précédent lorsque l’Atlantic Business Magazine lui donne la page couverture de son tout premier numéro consacré aux femmes. Mme Divine a reçu de nombreux prix et honneurs prestigieux. Elle a notamment été nommée une des cinq immigrantes les plus influentes de 2018 par My Halifax Experience.

Dre Alaa Murabit

Docteure en médecine, Commissaire sur l’emploi en santé et la croissance économique de l’ONU et figure de proue des objectifs de développement durable

La Dre Alaa Murabit milite sur la scène internationale pour des processus de paix inclusifs. Elle siège à la Commission de haut niveau sur l’emploi en santé et la croissance économique des Nations Unies. En outre, elle fait partie des 17 porte-parole mondiaux nommés par le secrétaire général des Nations Unies pour promouvoir les objectifs de développement durable. À l’âge de 15 ans, elle finit ses études secondaires et quitte le Canada avec sa famille pour s’installer à Zaouïa, en Libye, où elle commence ses études en médecine. À l’âge de 21 ans, elle fonde l’organisme The Voice of Libyan Women (La voix des femmes libyennes) pour promouvoir le leadership féminin et remettre en question les normes culturelles et sociétales. Boursière d’Ashoka et du laboratoire médiatique du MIT, Alaa Murabit détient de nombreux titres et distinctions, dont celle de figurer au palmarès des 30 personnalités les plus influentes de moins de 30 ans établi par le magazine Forbes et lauréate du prix Nelson Mandela Changemaker Award.

Dre Donna Strickland

Professeure au Département de physique et d’astronomie de l’Université de Waterloo et lauréate du prix Nobel de physique en 2018

Dre Donna Strickland est professeure au département de physique et d’astronomie de l’Université de Waterloo et est l’une des lauréates du prix Nobel de physique 2018 pour avoir développé l’amplification d’impulsions comprimées avec Gérard Mourou, son directeur de thèse à l’époque. Ils ont publié ces recherches récompensées par le prix Nobel en 1985 alors que Dre Strickland était doctorante à l’Université de Rochester à New York. Ensemble, ils ont ouvert la voie aux impulsions laser les plus intenses jamais créées.

Dre Strickland a reçu une bourse de recherche Sloan, un Prix du premier ministre pour l’excellence et un Cottrell Scholar Award. Elle a été présidente de l’Optical Society (OSA) en 2013 et est membre de l’OSA, de la Société royale du Canada et de la Société internationale d’optique et de photonique. Dre Strickland est membre honoraire de l’Académie canadienne du génie et de l’Institut de physique (Institute of Physics). Elle a reçu le Golden Plate Award de l’Academy of Achievement et est titulaire de nombreux doctorats honorifiques. Dre Strickland a été une des récipiendaires de l’Ordre du Canada en décembre 2019.

Raven Lacerte

Porteuse de la nation du lac Babine, et cofondatrice et jeune ambassadrice de la campagne Moose Hide

Raven Lacerte est une jeune ambassadrice de la campagne Moose Hide, un organisme communautaire national qu’elle a créé avec son père, Paul Lacerte, et qui rassemble des hommes et des femmes dans le but de mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants. Porteuse de la nation du lac Babine du centre de la Colombie-Britannique, elle a obtenu son diplôme en études autochtones du Camosun College et fait actuellement des études de premier cycle en sciences politiques à l’Université de Victoria. En plus de son engagement dans la campagne Moose Hide, elle est représentante de la jeunesse auprès du Conseil consultatif pour les femmes autochtones du ministère des Relations autochtones et de la Réconciliation de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle est également membre du comité directeur du 4Rs National Youth Movement, un projet collaboratif jeunesse qui vise à rapprocher les jeunes autochtones et non autochtones dans un esprit de respect, d’échange, de réconciliation et de pertinence.

Dre Mona Nemer

Conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada et défenseuse de l’éducation des femmes et des filles en sciences

Dre Mona Nemer est la conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada. Elle occupait auparavant les fonctions de vice-rectrice à la recherche à l’Université d’Ottawa, où elle dirigeait aussi le Laboratoire de génétique moléculaire et de régénération cardiaque. Née au Liban, Dre Nemer grandit à Beyrouth. Alors qu’elle était une jeune élève, elle a plaidé en faveur de l’élargissement du programme d’études de son école afin que les filles puissent étudier les sciences à des niveaux plus élevés. Elle a ensuite obtenu un doctorat en chimie de l'Université McGill en 1982. Auteure de plus de 200 articles scientifiques, Dre Nemer contribue par ses travaux à la mise au point de tests diagnostiques pour l’insuffisance cardiaque et à la génétique des maladies cardiaques congénitales. Dre Nemer a reçu de nombreux honneurs et prix; elle est notamment membre de l’Ordre du Canada et membre de l’Académie des sciences de la Société royale du Canada.

Sénatrice Chantal Petitclerc

Membre du Sénat du Canada pour le Québec, et championne paralympique médaillée

L’athlète de course en fauteuil roulant Chantal Petitclerc est également militante pour les droits des personnes handicapées et sénatrice. Native d’une localité rurale du Québec, elle devient la première athlète canadienne à remporter des médailles d’or aux Jeux olympiques, aux Jeux paralympiques et aux Jeux du Commonwealth. Devenue paraplégique à l’adolescence par suite d’un accident, la sénatrice Petitclerc se découvre un côté compétitif en pratiquant la natation pour garder la forme. Comme athlète de course en fauteuil roulant, elle remportera 21 médailles dans le cadre de cinq Jeux paralympiques entre 1992 et 2008, dont 14 médailles d’or, et fracassera 26 records mondiaux. Elle est considérée comme l’athlète de piste féminine la plus médaillée de l’histoire. La sénatrice Petitclerc est titulaire de nombreux honneurs, dont une étoile sur l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes, et est intronisée au Panthéon des sports canadiens. Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada, elle est nommée sénatrice en 2016.

Date de modification :