October 18 is Persons Day in Canada!

It marks the day in 1929 when the historic decision to include women in the legal definition of “persons” was handed down by Canada’s highest court of appeal. This gave some women the right to be appointed to the Senate of Canada and paved the way for women's increased participation in public and political life. Though this decision did not include all women, such as Indigenous women and women of Asian heritage and descent, it did mark critical progress in the advancement of gender equality in Canada.

The History of the Persons Case

In Canada, the British North America Act (BNA Act) of 1867 set out the powers and responsibilities of the provinces and of the federal government. The Act used the word “persons” when referring to more than one person and “he” when referring to one person. Many argued the Act implicitly stated that only a man could be a person, which prevented women from participating fully in politics or affairs of state.

Governments also used the “persons” argument to keep women out of important positions. If the word “person” applied only to men, then the stipulation that only “qualified persons” could be appointed to the Senate of Canada meant that only men could be appointed.

In 1927, five women who have since become known as the Famous Five launched a legal challenge that would mark a turning point for equality rights in Canada. Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby and Henrietta Muir Edwards were journalists, politicians, reformers and activists from Alberta who asked the Supreme Court of Canada to answer the following question: does the word “person” in Section 24 of the BNA Act include female persons? After five weeks of debate, the Supreme Court decided that the word “person” did not include women.

Although shocked by the Court’s decision, the Famous Five did not give up the fight and took their case to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of Great Britain in London, which was then Canada’s highest court of appeal.

On October 18, 1929, Lord Sankey, Lord Chancellor of Great Britain, announced the decision:

“The exclusion of women from all public offices is a relic of days more barbarous than ours. And to those who would ask why the word ‘person’ should include females, the obvious answer is, why should it not?”

On Persons Day, we honour the bravery and determination of the Famous Five whose landmark case helped pave the way for women to participate equally in all aspects of life in Canada. We also honour all those whose work in the years since then has expanded and strengthened those rights.

Shareables

How to save images to your computer or mobile device

(1) Open the full-sized image

Open the full-sized image by clicking on the link of the image you wish to download.

(2) Open the contextual menu

On a PC: Right-click on the image you want to download.
On a Mac: Hold down the Control key (Ctrl) and click on the image you want to download.
On a mobile device: Tap and hold the image you want to download until the menu appears.

(3) Choose “Save as”

The options on the contextual menu will vary, depending on which web browser you’re using. Some browsers may say “Save as” while others may say “Save image as” or “Save picture as.”

(4) Rename the file (optional)

A dialogue box will open, giving you the opportunity to change the file name or keep it as is.

(5) Choose a destination folder

Specify a location to save the downloaded image and click “Save.”

Web banner

Persons Day web banner
Text version – Web banner

Visual of Persons Day 2020 branding: Off-white background with multi-coloured bubbles. Statue of the Famous Five: Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Louise Crummy McKinney and Henrietta Muir Edwards.

Use this banner for your web or Intranet content.

Social media creative

Persons Day social media creative
Text version – Social media creative

Visual of Persons Day 2020 branding: Off-white background with multi-coloured bubbles. Statue of the Famous Five: Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Louise Crummy McKinney and Henrietta Muir Edwards Women and Gender Equality Canada corporate identity and Canada wordmark. Text reads: Persons Day October 18, 2020.

Use this creative product for your social media campaign.

Date modified:

Le 18 octobre, c’est la Journée de l’affaire « personne » au Canada!

Ce jour-là, en 1929, le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada a rendu une décision historique : les femmes seraient incluses dans la définition du mot « personne » au sens de la loi. C’est ainsi que les femmes ont obtenu le droit de siéger au Sénat, ce qui a mené à une participation féminine grandissante à la vie publique et politique. Bien que cette décision n'inclue pas toutes les femmes, notamment les femmes autochtones et les femmes d'origine et de descendance asiatique, elle marque une avancée importante dans la progression vers l'égalité des genres au Canada.

L’histoire de l’affaire « personne »

Au Canada, la Loi de 1867 sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique établit les pouvoirs et les responsabilités des provinces et du gouvernement fédéral. Le terme « personnes » y est employé pour désigner plus d’un individu, et le pronom « il » pour en désigner un seul. À l’époque, bon nombre en ont conclu qu’implicitement, aux termes de la Loi, seul un homme était considéré comme une personne, les femmes ne pouvaient donc pas prendre pleinement part à la vie politique ou aux affaires de l’état.

Les gouvernements avaient recours au même argument pour empêcher les femmes d’accéder à des postes importants : si le mot « personne » ne s’appliquait qu’aux hommes et que seules des « personnes qualifiées » pouvaient être nommées au Sénat du Canada, alors seuls les hommes pouvaient y siéger.

En 1927, 5 femmes,que l’on appelle aujourd’hui les Célèbres cinq, ont lancé une contestation judiciaire qui a marqué un tournant dans la lutte pour le droit à l’égalité au Canada. Les Albertaines Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby et Henrietta Muir Edwards, des journalistes, politiciennes, réformatrices et militantes qui, ensemble, ont demandé à la Cour suprême du Canada de déterminer si le mot « personne » englobait les femmes dans l’article 24 de la Loi sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Après cinq semaines de délibération, la Cour suprême a tranché : le mot « personne » excluait les femmes.

Indignées par la décision, les Célèbres cinq ont refusé de baisser les bras et ont porté leur cause devant le Comité judiciaire du conseil privé britannique, à Londres, soit le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada à l’époque.

Le 18 octobre 1929, la décision est annoncée par Lord Sankey, grand chancelier de Grande-Bretagne :

« L’exclusion des femmes de toute charge publique est un vestige d’une époque plus barbare. Aux personnes qui se demandent si le mot “personne” doit comprendre les femmes, la réponse est évidente, pourquoi pas? »

À l’occasion de la Journée de l’affaire « personne », nous rendons hommage à la bravoure et à la détermination des Célèbres cinq, dont la cause a mené à une participation féminine égale dans tous les aspects de la vie au Canada. Nous rendons également hommage à toutes les personnes dont le travail, au cours des années qui ont suivi, a permis d'étendre et de renforcer ces droits.

Éléments à partager

Comment sauvegarder des images sur votre ordinateur ou appareil mobile

(1) Affichez l’image dans sa taille originale (grande taille)

Ouvrez l’image dans sa taille réelle en cliquant sur le lien de l’image que vous souhaitez télécharger.

(2) Ouvrez le menu contextuel

Sur un PC : Cliquez sur l’image que vous souhaitez télécharger avec le bouton droit de la souris.
Sur un Mac : Maintenez la touche Contrôle (Ctrl) enfoncée et cliquez sur l’image que vous souhaitez télécharger.
Sur un appareil mobile : Appuyez longuement sur l’image que vous souhaitez télécharger jusqu’à ce que le menu s’affiche.

(3) Sélectionnez « Enregistrer sous »

Les options qu’offre le menu contextuel peuvent varier selon le navigateur Web que vous utilisez. Certains afficheront « Enregistrer sous » alors que d’autres afficheront « Enregistrer l’image sous » ou « Enregistrer la cible sous ».

(4) Renommez le fichier (optionnel)

Une boîte de dialogue s’ouvrira. Vous pouvez alors changer le nom du fichier si vous le voulez.

(5) Sélectionnez le dossier de destination

Choisissez l’emplacement où vous voulez sauvegarder l’image sur votre ordinateur et cliquez sur « Enregistrer ».

Bannière Web

Version textuelle – bannière Web

Visuel avec l’image de marque de la Journée de l’affaire « personne » de 2020 : fond blanc cassé avec des cercles de couleurs. Statue des Célèbres cinq: Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Louise Crummy McKinney et Henrietta Muir Edwards.

Utilisez cette bannière pour votre contenu Web ou intranet.

Contenu créatif pour les médias sociaux

Version textuelle – Contenu créatif pour les médias sociaux

Visuel avec l’image de marque de la Journée de l’affaire « personne » de 2020 : fond blanc cassé avec des cercles de couleurs. Statue des Célèbres cinq: Emily Murphy, Irene Marryat Parlby, Nellie Mooney McClung, Louise Crummy McKinney et Henrietta Muir Edwards. Identité de marque de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada et mot-symbole Canada. Le texte indique: Journée de l’affaire « personne » 18 octobre 2020

Utilisez ce contenu créatif pour votre campagne sur les réseaux sociaux.

Date de modification :