64th session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women

The 64th session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women will be taking place in New York City from March 9 to March 20, 2020.

On this page

64th session focus

The 64th session’s main focus will be on the review and appraisal of the implementation of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action and the outcomes of the 23rd special session of the General Assembly. The review will include an assessment of current challenges that affect the implementation of the Platform for Action and the achievement of gender equality and the empowerment of women and its contribution towards the full realization of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Canada’s national review

Every five years, UN Women conducts a global review on progress towards the implementation of the Beijing Platform for Action. In this context, the Government of Canada prepared a National Report on its own implementation progress. For this review, covering the period of 2015 to 2019, progress towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals was also considered.

The Government of Canada consulted with provincial and territorial governments for input to the national review to highlight what has been achieved in various jurisdictions in advancing gender equality and will continue working together to address challenges and gaps.

Date modified:

64e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme de l’Organisation des Nations Unies

La 64e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) aura lieu à New York du 9 au 20 mars 2020.

Sur cette page

Objectif de la 64e session

La 64e session aura comme objectif principal la revue et l’évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration et du Programme d’action de Beijing ainsi que sur les conclusions et recommandations de la 23e session extraordinaire de l’Assemblée générale. Les examens devront inclure une évaluation des défis actuels qui affectent la mise en œuvre du Programme d'action et la réalisation de l'égalité des sexes et de l'autonomisation des femmes, ainsi comme sa contribution à la pleine réalisation du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 et de dynamiser sa mise en œuvre favorable à l’égalité des sexes.

Examen national du Canada

À tous les cinq ans, ONU Femmes évalue globalement les progrès accomplis visant la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration et du Programme d’action de Beijing. Dans ce contexte, le Canada prépare un Examen national relié à sa propre mise en œuvre. Le présent rapport porte sur les initiatives clés pour la période de 2015 à 2019. Les progrès accomplis visant le Programme de développement durable sont aussi inclus dans le rapport.

Dans le cadre de la rédaction du rapport, le gouvernement du Canada a obtenu les commentaires des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin de souligner leurs accomplissements reliés à l’égalité des sexes. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de travailler avec les différentes juridictions pour aborder les défis et les lacunes.

Date de modification :