Youth Working Group on Gender Equality

Youth Working Group on Gender Equality
Bottom row (left to right): Charlene Campo, Stormy Bradley, Jonathon Reed, Raylene MacKey. Middle row (left to right): Reese Estwick, Guyleigh Johnson, Christina Luo, Amanda Kanbari. Top row (left to right): Geneviève Benoit, Emma Ronsley, Cyndia Mondésir, Phaedra de Saint Rome, Allison Kilgour, Katie Davey, Tommy Hana. Missing: Alyssa Carpenter, Rae-Anne Harper, Richelle Ritchie, Roshni Khemraj, Taya Nabuurs.

The Department for Women and Gender Equality is launching the initiative, National Conversations on Gender Equality with Young Canadians.

National Conversations on Gender Equality with Young Canadians will expand and amplify youth-led dialogue about behaviours and attitudes that perpetuate gender inequality, and support action for long-term change.

To spearhead the initiative, the Department has identified youth from across Canada to form the Youth Working Group on Gender Equality (YWG). The working group is made up of young Canadians who are passionate and engaged, and who will lead initiatives to advance gender equality in Canada.

The Youth Working Group on Gender Equality’s members are:

Allison Kilgour
Allison is a proven young leader from Manitoba with expertise in youth activism and gender-based violence prevention. She was a founding Director of Students for Consent Culture, a student-led gender-based violence prevention movement where she currently serves as Education Coordinator. Allison is a sought after speaker on mental health with Jack.org and is currently the Sexual Violence and Resource Specialist at the University of Manitoba. She will be starting her J.D. in September, 2019.
Alyssa Carpenter
Alyssa is of Inuvialuit, Sahtu Dene and Gwich'in descent, and was born and raised in the Western Arctic region of the Northwest Territories. She currently resides in between Whitehorse and Yellowknife. Alyssa is an experienced social worker and uses her engagement and facilitation skills in outreach work with BYTE: Empowering Youth and Taking it Global. Additionally, Alyssa serves as one of two youth board members with Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada and is part of the 4Rs National Learning Community Northern Cohort.
Amanda Kanbari
Amanda is a gender advocate and program developer from Yellowknife who works to advance gender equality for everyone in the North. She has created feminist gender-based programming that addresses gender inequality and gender-based violence in the North. Amanda’s work has led her to speak on the international stage about gender inequality and the intersections of race, class, ability and how those living in rural areas within the Northwest Territories are affected by these intersections.
Charlene Campo
Charlene is a passionate advocate for gender equality from Edmonton, Alberta. She is currently an Issues Integration Lead for the Government of Alberta, and is pursuing a Master of Arts in Gender and Social Justice at the University of Alberta. Described by her colleagues as a change agent, Charlene is fascinated with the preconditions that are necessary for sustained social change. In the past, she was a RISE Ambassador for Apathy is Boring, has served on the board of the Calgary Women’s Emergency Shelter, has volunteered for front line services for the Women’s Centre of Calgary, and was a contributor to the award winning Anti-Racist Organizational Change working group in Calgary.
Christina Luo
Christina is a Youth Advisor for Plan International Canada’s Youth Advisory Council from Edmonton, Alberta. Christina has proven experience in designing, advising on and implementing Plan’s Youth for Gender Equality initiative, Canada’s first youth-led UN SDG implementation plan. She is passionate about engaging youth on their role in measuring and achieving gender equality.
Cyndia Mondésir
Cyndia is a young racialized feminist leader from Ottawa, Ontario, with a deep commitment to positive and progressive social change. She works with the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, and the Feminist Alliance for International Action to advance gender equality research and advocacy.
Emma Ronsley
Emma is a recent law school graduate from Vancouver, British Columbia. In addition to organizing educational and extracurricular programming for at-risk youth, Emma has worked as a legal advocate in the areas of poverty law, family law, and child protection. She has experience designing and facilitating public legal education for high school students and is passionate about social justice education for youth.
Geneviève Benoit
Genevieve is a Métis youth from Winnipeg, Manitoba, who is currently attending law school at Robson Hall, University of Manitoba. She is highly engaged in her faculty and is an advocate for Indigenous rights on her campus, specifically in her role as an executive member of the Manitoba Indigenous Law Students’ Association. Genevieve’s engagement in her Métis community has resulted in her attending and participating in a variety of national and international conferences and events.
Guyleigh Johnson
Guyleigh is an activist, poet and author from Nova Scotia. Her two books, Expect the Unexpected and Afraid of the Dark, explore racism, gender-based violence, social isolation and mental wellbeing in the black community. She is currently a student at Dalhousie University and is working on two additional books, including a children’s book on Viola Desmond.
Jonathon Reed
Jonathon is a dedicated youth leader from Ontario who specializes in adventure-based programming centered on boyhood masculinity. Jonathan coordinates school-based programs on positive masculinities for youth with Next Gen Men and hosts a podcast called Breaking the Boy Code. Additionally, he is a noted speaker and advocate on gender equality and LGBTQ2+ issues.
Katie Davey
Katie Davey self-identifies as an inclusive policy advocate. She has held a number of policy and stakeholder engagement roles with a specialized focus on gender equality and youth engagement. She attributes her time as President of the University of New Brunswick Student Union as the foundation for her work. Recently, Katie launched Femme Wonk – a policy and current affairs podcast that discusses public policy through a gender and inclusion lens.
Phaedra de Saint Rome
Phaedra is an entrepreneur, activist and community builder from Quebec. A graduate of McGill University with a mini-MBA from Stanford, she has been involved with a variety of grassroots and international organizations that focus on community engagement, climate action and women’s empowerment, and was previously named a Global Shaper by the World Economic Forum. Phaedra recently founded So What Media Inc., a new-era media company that aims to make current affairs more engaging while also empowering young women in Canada and abroad.
Rae-Anne Harper
Rae-Anne is a First Nation and Métis youth leader from Saskatchewan. She  currently serves as President of the National Association of Friendship Centre’s Aboriginal Youth Council and has proven experience in youth program coordination for at-risk urban Indigenous young people. Rae-Anne hopes to assist in creating more sustainable programming for urban Indigenous youth.
Raylene MacKey
Raylene Mackey is a passionate youth advocate from St. John’s, Newfoundland, and Labrador, who specializes in empowering women in leadership. Raylene currently serves as an Assistant and Aide-de-Camp to the Lieutenant Governor of NL and the Co-Chair of the Premier’s Youth Council. Additionally, Raylene is a radio personality on VOCM Radio. She is a former Page of the NL House of Assembly and a former Miss Teen NL. Raylene is an active volunteer and has received a Government URock Volunteer Award, a provincial Loran Award, and the Governor General of Canada Sovereign Medal for Volunteers. She most recently graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in political science (co-op) and law and society from Memorial University of Newfoundland. Raylene will begin her master’s degree in the fall and aspires to attend law school in the future.
Reese Estwick
Reese is an LGBTQ2 advocate and leader from Manitoba who started the first Gender Sexual Alliance in her school division, organized and led Pride Week in her school every year, and has been advocating to her school administration and school board to initiate a safe space for LGBTQ2 youth in schools. Additionally, she advocates for teachers to get LGBTQ2 ally training and recently mobilized over 50 students to create a video to raise awareness on Down syndrome.
Richelle Ritchie
Richelle is youth leader from Saugeen First Nation #29 who is passionate about advocacy, particularly with regards to children and youth.  She is currently completing her Master's of Social Work at Wilfrid Laurier University, while volunteering on the Independent First Nations Youth Working Group, and the Ontario First Nations Youth Peoples Council. Richelle now sits on the Assembly of First Nations National Youth Council as the Ontario Female Representative.
Roshni Khemraj
Roshni is a youth leader from Ontario who is passionate about gender equality with a particular interest in grassroots organizing. She is currently entering her second year at Osgoode Hall Law School and is working in the Immigration Division of Parkdale Community Legal Services. Passionate about identifying new and creative ways to engage young people in areas of campaigning and activism, Roshni sits on Amnesty International's National Youth Action and Advisory Committee, and she is a public speaker and Youth Advisory Council member with Plan International Canada. Additionally, Roshni was an inaugural participant in the Girls Belong Here initiative having taken over the role of Plan’s CEO on International Day of the Girl 2016.
Stormy Bradley
Stormy is a young Indigenous woman, a single mother, and an active member of her community, the Tr'ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation, in Yukon. Over the past two years, Stormy has been working alongside other Indigenous youth leaders to end violence against women in their communities through a project called Shared Wisdom, VIDEA.
Taya Nabuurs
Taya is a youth leader from Prince Edward Island who is passionate about civic engagement, eliminating gender-based violence, and improving women and girls' access to education. She has served as Vice-President (Academic & External) of the UPEI Student’s Union, a member of the Premier’s Youth Futures Council, specifically  on the Action Committee on Family Violence Prevention, and was on the Board of Directors of the PEI Coalition for Women in Government.
Tommy Hana
Tommy is a sexual and reproductive health rights advocate from Toronto who is passionate about global health. He is a medical student from the University of Toronto and completed his undergraduate studies at Queen’s University as a Loran Scholar. He is currently a Remote Research Assistant at the Pamoja Tunaweza Women’s Centre in Tanzania, a research assistant at the Centre for Global Health Research, Women’s College Hospital and Mount Sinai Hospital. His research focuses on adolescent contraception programs in low resource settings, access to maternal care and maternal mortality in India, publicly-funded transition-related surgery programs, and medical education. Additionally, Tommy is a consultant for the World Health Organization (Gender Equality and Human Rights), and has worked for KPMG and Doctors of the World UK. He recently represented the International Federation of Medical Students Associations at the UNCSW 63.
Date modified:

Groupe de travail jeunesse sur l’égalité des genres

Groupe de travail jeunesse sur l’égalité des genres
Rangée du bas (gauche à droite) : Charlene Campo, Stormy Bradley, Jonathon Reed, Raylene MacKey. Rangée du milieu (gauche à droite) : Reese Estwick, Guyleigh Johnson, Christina Luo, Amanda Kanbari. Rangée du haut (gauche à droite) : Geneviève Benoit, Emma Ronsley, Cyndia Mondésir, Phaedra de Saint Rome, Allison Kilgour, Katie Davey, Tommy Hana. Absent(e)s : Alyssa Carpenter, Rae-Anne Harper, Richelle Ritchie, Roshni Khemraj, Taya Nabuurs.

Le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres lance une toute nouvelle initiative, les conversations nationales avec les jeunes du Canada sur l’égalité des genres. 

L’initiative des conversations nationales avec les jeunes du Canada sur l’égalité des genres permettra d’étendre et d’amplifier le dialogue mené par les jeunes sur les comportements et les attitudes qui contribuent à perpétuer l’inégalité des genres. Elle appuiera également la prise de mesures en faveur d’un changement durable.

Pour diriger cette initiative, le Ministère a identifié des jeunes de partout au Canada qui formeront un Groupe de travail jeunesse sur l’égalité des genres. Le groupe de travail est composé d’une jeunesse passionnée et motivée qui dirigera des initiatives visant à promouvoir l’égalité des genres au Canada.

Les membres du Groupe de travail des jeunes sur l’égalité des genres sont :

Allison Kilgour
Allison est une jeune chef de file reconnue du Manitoba qui possède une expertise en militantisme jeunesse et en prévention de la violence fondée sur le sexe. Elle a été directrice fondatrice de Students for Consent Culture; un mouvement étudiant de prévention de la violence fondée sur le sexe où elle est actuellement coordonnatrice de l’éducation. Allison est une conférencière recherchée en santé mentale avec Jack.org. Elle est actuellement spécialiste de la violence sexuelle et des ressources dans ce domaine à l’Université du Manitoba. Elle commencera son doctorat de droit en septembre 2019.
Alyssa Carpenter
Alyssa est à la fois d’origine Inuvialuit, Déné du Sahtu et Gwich’in. Elle est née et a grandi dans le secteur de l’Ouest de l’Arctique des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et habite actuellement entre Whitehorse et Yellowknife. Alyssa est une travailleuse sociale expérimentée qui utilise ses compétences d’engagement et de facilitation en travail de proximité au sein de l’organisation Bringing Youth Towards Equality (BYTE) : Empowering Youth and Taking it Global. En outre, Alyssa constitue l’une des deux jeunes qui sont membres du conseil de l’Association des femmes Inuites du Canada (Pauktuutit), et elle fait partie de la cohorte du Nord de 4Rs National Learning Community.
Amanda Kanbari
Amanda est une défenseure de l’égalité des sexes et une développeuse de programmes de Yellowknife qui s’emploie à promouvoir l’égalité des sexes pour les habitants du Nord. Elle a créé des programmes féministes qui répondent à l’inégalité des sexes et à la violence de genre dans le Nord. Son travail lui a permis de parler sur la scène internationale de l’inégalité entre les genres et des intersections de la race, de la classe sociale, de la capacité et de la façon dont les personnes vivant dans les régions rurales des Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont touchées par ces intersections.
Charlene Campo
Charlene est une ardente défenseure de l’égalité des sexes à Edmonton, en Alberta. Charlene est actuellement responsable de l’intégration des enjeux pour le gouvernement de l’Alberta et poursuit une maîtrise ès arts en égalité des sexes et en justice sociale à l’Université de l’Alberta. Qualifiée d’agent de changement par ses collègues, Charlene est fascinée par les conditions préalables nécessaires à un changement social soutenu. Par le passé, elle a été ambassadrice de RISE pour L’apathie c’est plate, a siégé au conseil d’administration du Calgary Women’s Emergency Shelter, a offert bénévolement des services de première ligne au Women’s Centre of Calgary et a contribué au groupe de travail sur le changement organisationnel antiraciste primé à Calgary.
Christina Luo
Christina est conseillère jeunesse pour le Conseil consultatif jeunesse de Plan International Canada d’Edmonton, en Alberta. Christina a une solide expérience de la conception, de la prestation de conseils et de la mise en œuvre de l’initiative Jeunesse pour l’égalité des sexes du Plan, le premier plan de mise en œuvre des ODD de l’ONU dirigé par des jeunes au Canada. Elle est passionnée par la mobilisation des jeunes et du rôle qu’ils peuvent jouer dans l’évaluation et l’atteinte des objectifs d’égalité entre les sexes.
Cyndia Mondésir
Cyndia se décrit comme une jeune leader féministe racialisée profondément engagée à amener un changement social positif et progressiste. Elle travaille à l’Institut canadien de recherche sur les femmes, à l’Alliance féministe pour l’action internationale et avec la sénatrice McPhedran pour faire progresser la recherche et la défense de l’égalité des sexes.
Emma Ronsley
Emma vient de terminer ses études de droit à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. En plus d’organiser des programmes éducatifs et parascolaires pour les jeunes à risque, Emma a travaillé comme avocate dans les domaines du droit des pauvres, du droit de la famille et de la protection de l’enfance. Elle a de l’expérience dans la conception et la facilitation de l’éducation juridique publique pour les élèves du secondaire et elle est passionnée par l’éducation à la justice sociale pour les jeunes.
Geneviève Benoit
Geneviève est une jeune métisse de Winnipeg, au Manitoba, qui en est actuellement à sa deuxième année à la faculté de droit Robson Hall, à l’Université du Manitoba. Elle est très engagée dans son corps professoral et défend les droits des Autochtones sur son campus, particulièrement dans le cadre de son rôle de membre exécutif de l’Association des étudiants en droit autochtone du Manitoba. L’engagement de Geneviève dans sa communauté lui a permis d’assister et de participer à diverses conférences et activités nationales et internationales.
Guyleigh Johnson
Guyleigh est activiste, poète et auteur. Ses deux livres, Expect the Unexpected et Afraid of the Dark, explorent le racisme, la violence sexiste, l’isolement social et le bien-être mental dans la communauté noire. Elle étudie actuellement à l’Université Dalhousie et travaille sur deux autres livres, dont un livre pour enfants sur Viola Desmond.
Jonathon Ree
Jonathon est un jeune leader dévoué de l’Ontario qui se spécialise dans la programmation axée sur l’aventure et centrée sur la masculinité de l’enfance. Il coordonne des programmes scolaires sur les masculinités positives pour les jeunes avec Next Gen Men et anime un balado intitulé Breaking the Boy Code. De plus, il est un conférencier réputé et un défenseur de l’égalité des sexes et des enjeux liés à la communauté LGBTQ2+.
Katie Davey
Katie Davey s’identifie elle-même comme une défenseure des politiques inclusives. Elle a occupé un certain nombre de fonctions liées aux politiques et à la mobilisation des intervenants en mettant l’accent sur l’égalité des sexes et la participation des jeunes. Elle dit que temps qu’elle a passé à la présidence de l’Union étudiante de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick lui a permis d’apprendre les bases de son travail. Récemment, Katie a lancé Femme Wonk, un balado sur les politiques et les affaires courantes qui traite des politiques publiques sous l’angle de l’égalité des sexes et de l’inclusion.
Phaedra de Saint Rome
Phaedra est une entrepreneure, une militante et une bâtisseure communautaire du Québec. Diplômée de l’Université McGill et d’une mini-maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Stanford, elle a œuvré au sein de diverses organisations locales et internationales axées sur l’engagement communautaire, la lutte contre les changements climatiques et l’autonomisation des femmes, et a déjà été nommée formatrice mondiale par le Forum économique mondial. Phaedra a récemment fondé So What Media Inc., une entreprise médiatique de la nouvelle ère qui vise à rendre les affaires courantes plus attrayantes tout en autonomisant les jeunes femmes au Canada et à l’étranger.
Rae-Anne Harper
Rae-Anne est une jeune femme des Premières nations et des Métis de la Saskatchewan. Elle est présidente du Conseil des jeunes autochtones de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié. Au sein des centres d’amitié, Rae-Anne a travaillé pour ses pairs en coordonnant des programmes pour les jeunes Autochtones à risque en milieu urbain. Rae-Anne veut aider à créer des programmes plus durables pour les jeunes Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.
Raylene MacKey
Raylene Mackey est une défenseure passionnée de la jeunesse de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, qui se spécialise dans l’autonomisation des femmes en matière de leadership. Elle est actuellement adjointe et aide de camp auprès du lieutenant-gouverneur de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et coprésidente du Conseil jeunesse du premier ministre. De plus, Raylene est une personnalité de la radio sur VOCM Radio. Elle a été page de la Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Miss Teen NL. Raylene est une bénévole active et a reçu un Prix du bénévole de l’initiative gouvernementale URock, un Prix Loran provincial et la Médaille du souverain du gouverneur général du Canada pour les bénévoles. Plus récemment, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en sciences politiques (coop) et en droit et société de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Raylene commencera sa maîtrise à l’automne et aspire à fréquenter une faculté de droit.
Reese Estwick
Reese est une militante et une dirigeante LGBTQ2 du Manitoba qui a lancé la première Alliance sexuelle des genres dans sa division scolaire. Elle a organisé et dirigé la Semaine de la fierté dans son école chaque année. Elle milite auprès de son administration scolaire et de son conseil scolaire pour créer un espace sécuritaire pour les jeunes LGBTQ2 dans les écoles. De plus, elle milite pour que les enseignants suivent une formation sur les membres de la communauté LGBTQ2 et a récemment mobilisé plus de 50 élèves pour créer une vidéo de sensibilisation au syndrome de Down.
Richelle Ritchie
Richelle fait partie de la Première Nation de Saugeen 29.  Elle termine son programme de maîtrise en travail social à l’Université Wilfrid‑Laurier. Elle fait du bénévolat au sein du Groupe de travail sur les jeunes d’Independent First Nations et du Conseil des jeunes des Premières Nations de l’Ontario. Elle a également été représentante des jeunes dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour des écoles sûres et tolérantes d’Independent First Nations. Elle siège maintenant au Conseil national des jeunes de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations à titre de représentante des femmes de l’Ontario. Elle se passionne pour la défense des droits, particulièrement ceux des enfants et des jeunes.
Roshni Khemraj
Roshni est une jeune cheffe de file de l’Ontario qui a une passion pour l’égalité des genres et un intérêt particulier pour les organisations communautaires. Elle entame actuellement sa deuxième année d’étude à l’école de droit Osgoode Hall et travaille au sein de la Division de l’immigration de la Clinique juridique communautaire de Parkdale. Elle se passionne pour la découverte de façons nouvelles et créatives de mobiliser les jeunes dans les domaines des campagnes et de l’activisme; elle siège au National Youth Action and Advisory Committee d’Amnistie internationale et est conférencière et membre du Conseil consultatif des jeunes auprès de Plan Canada. De plus, Roshni a fait partie des premières membres de l’initiative Girls belong here, et elle a occupé le poste de PDG de Plan Canada lors de la Journée internationale des filles en 2016.
Stormy Bradley
Stormy est une jeune femme autochtone, une mère célibataire et un membre actif de sa communauté, la Première Nation des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in, au Yukon. Au cours des deux dernières années, elle a travaillé avec d’autres jeunes leaders autochtones pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes dans leurs collectivités grâce à un projet appelé Shared Wisdom, VIDEA.
Taya Nabuurs
Taya est une jeune cheffe de file de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui se passionne pour la mobilisation citoyenne, l’élimination de la violence fondée sur le sexe et l’amélioration de l’accès des femmes et des filles à l’éducation. Elle a été vice-présidente (à l’Université et à l’externe) de l’Association étudiante de l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et membre du Conseil jeunesse pour l’avenir du premier ministre, en plus d’avoir siégé au Conseil de direction de la Coalition pour les femmes au gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
Tommy Hana
Tommy est un défenseur des droits en matière de santé sexuelle et génésique et un  spécialiste chevronné de la santé mondiale et, des déterminants sociaux de la santé et un défenseur des droits en matière de santé sexuelle et génésique de Toronto, en Ontario. Il est étudiant en médecine à l’Université de Toronto et a terminé ses études de premier cycle à l’Université Queen’s à titre de boursier Loran. Il est actuellement assistant de recherche à distance au Pamoja Tunaweza Women’s Centre en Tanzanie, assistant de recherche au Centre for Global Health Research, au Women’s College Hospital et à l’hôpital Mount Sinai. Ses recherches se concentrent sur les programmes de contraception pour les adolescents dans des milieux à faibles ressources, l’accès aux soins maternels et la mortalité maternelle en Inde, les programmes de chirurgie de transition financés par l’État et l’éducation médicale. De plus, Tommy est consultant pour l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (égalité des sexes et droits de la personne). Il a travaillé pour KPMG et Doctors of the World UK. Il a récemment représenté la Fédération internationale des associations d’étudiants en médecine à la CSNU 63.
Date de modification :