Access to Information and Privacy

The Access to Information Act gives every Canadian citizen, permanent resident, individual or corporation present in Canada the right to request access to records that are under the control of federal government institutions. The Act complements other means of obtaining government information.

The Privacy Act provides every Canadian citizen, permanent resident or individual present in Canada with a right of access to their personal information that is held by federal government institutions. It also protects against unauthorized disclosure of that personal information. In addition, it strictly controls how the federal government will collect, use, store, disclose and dispose of any personal information.

On this page

About the Access to Information and Privacy Office

The mandate of Women and Gender Equality Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Office is to implement and administer the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to oversee compliance with the acts ensure that legislative and central agency policies and procedures are respected on behalf of the Department.

The ATIP Office responds directly to all access to information and privacy requests. The office serves as the centre of expertise on ATIP issues.

Make an access to information or privacy request

There are two types of requests:

You may make a request by mail or online by describing the records you are seeking and including any relevant details to help the ATIP Office find the records you are requesting. Please note that a $5 application fee applies to access to information requests. There is no fee for privacy requests.

Submitting your request online

The Access to Information and Privacy Online Request Service offers a convenient way to submit access to information or personal information requests.

This service enables you to make online requests for information under the control of Government of Canada institutions.

Submit request online

Mailing your request

To make a request by mail, complete either the Access to Information Request Form or the Personal Information Request Form, or write a letter indicating that your request is made in accordance with the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act. In the case of an access to information request, please include the $5 application fee in the form of a cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General of Canada. Your request may be mailed to the ATIP Office.

Women and Gender Equality Canada
Access to Information and Privacy Office

Mail: P.O. Box 8097, Station T CSC
Ottawa, Ontario K1G 3H6

Courier: 22, Eddy Street, 10th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec J8X 2V6

For further information please contact us at: 

Telephone: 819-420-6816

ATIP-AIPRP@swc-cfc.gc.ca

Completed access to information requests

Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE, formerly SWC) posts a list of requests completed under the Access to Information Act every month on the open.canada.ca website. WAGE request summaries can be searched by year, month and subject.

The list may not include all requests for information that we received. Requests that primarily contain personal information of the original requester are not posted.

If you wish to obtain a copy of the records released in response to a request, you may ask for a copy online or write to our Access to Information and Privacy Office.

You may also search for access to information requests completed by other federal institutions on Open Government.

The records will be disclosed as they were released originally including format and language(s). They will also include the exemptions and exclusions that were applied under the Access to Information Act.

Date modified:

Accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents, aux personnes et aux sociétés au Canada le droit d'accès à l'information des dossiers des institutions du gouvernement fédéral. La loi complète les moyens existant pour obtenir des informations du gouvernement.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et aux personnes au Canada le droit d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels détenus par le gouvernement. La Loi garantit la protection contre la divulgation non autorisée de ces renseignements personnels. En outre, elle impose des contrôles stricts quant à la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral recueille, utilise, entrepose, communique et élimine les renseignements personnels.

Sur cette page

Au sujet du bureau d’Accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels

Le bureau  de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada est responsable d’administrer et de mettre en application la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de veiller au respect des dispositions législatives et des procédures et politiques des organismes centraux à l’appui du Ministère.

Le Bureau de l'AIPRP coordonne les réponses directement à toutes les demandes d’accès à l'information et aux demandes de confidentialité. Le bureau sert de centre d'expertise sur les questions d'AIPRP.

Faire une demande d’accès à l’information ou de renseignements personnels

Il existe deux types de demandes :

Vous pouvez présenter une demande par la poste ou en ligne en décrivant les documents que vous cherchez. Assurez-vous d'indiquer les détails pertinents afin d’aider au Secrétariat de l’AIPRP dans ses recherches. Veuillez noter que des frais de 5 $ s'appliquent aux demandes d'accès à l'information. Il n'y a pas de frais pour les demandes de renseignements personnels.

Soumettre votre demande en ligne

Le Service de demandes d’AIPRP en ligne offre un moyen pratique de présenter des demandes d’accès à l’information ou à des renseignements personnels.

Ce service vous permet de présenter des demandes en ligne de renseignements sous le contrôle des institutions du gouvernement du Canada.

Soumettre la demande en ligne

Envoyer votre demande par la poste

Pour présenter votre demande par la poste, remplissez le Formulaire de demande d'accès à l'information ou le Formulaire de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels, ou encore rédigez une lettre mentionnant que la demande est présentée conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Dans le cas d’une demande d’accès à l’information, joignez un chèque ou un mandat de 5 $ libellé à l’ordre du receveur général du Canada. Vous pouvez poster votre demande au bureau de l’AIPRP.

Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada
Secrétariat de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Poste: C. P. 8097, station T CSC
Ottawa (Ontario) K1G 3H6

Services de messagerie: 22 rue Eddy, 10e étage
Gatineau (Québec) J8X 2V6

Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec nous :

Téléphone : 819-420-6816

ATIP-AIPRP@swc-cfc.gc.ca

Demandes d’accès à l’information complétées

Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada (FEGC, anciennement CFC) affiche mensuellement, sur le site Web ouvert.canada.ca, la liste de demandes traitées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche parmi les sommaires de demandes complétées par FEGC selon l’année, le mois ou le sujet des demandes.

Cette liste ne contient pas nécessairement toutes les demandes que nous avons reçues. Les demandes dont le contenu est composé principalement des renseignements personnels concernant le demandeur original ne sont pas affichées.

Si vous désirez obtenir une copie des documents rendus publics à la suite d’une demande, veuillez le faire en ligne ou communiquer avec notre Bureau de l’Accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

Il est aussi possible d’effectuer des recherches parmi les demandes d’accès à l’information complétées par d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux ainsi que sur Gouvernement ouvert..

Les documents seront fournis tels qu’ils ont été communiqués initialement, y compris le format et la langue. Cela comprend aussi toutes les exceptions et exclusions prévues par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Date de modification :