Frequently asked questions

Framework to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence at Post-Secondary Institutions

  • Why is the Government of Canada facilitating the development of a Framework?

    In Budget 2018, the Government of Canada committed $5.5 million over 5 years, starting in 2018-2019, for Women and Gender Equality Canada to work with stakeholders, including provinces and territories, to develop a framework to prevent and address gender-based violence (GBV) at post-secondary institutions (PSIs). The Framework will contribute to consistent, comprehensive and sustainable approaches to preventing and addressing GBV at PSIs.

  • Why does Canada need a Framework?

    Gender-based violence (GBV) persists in Canada. It is preventable and a significant barrier to gender equality. While largely underreported, GBV is prevalent at PSIs across Canada. Approximately 261,000 incidents of sexual assault were reported by students in 2014, representing 41% of all reported sexual assaults in the country. Despite growing efforts across the country to address GBV at PSIs, approaches are inconsistent. There is no set standard or comprehensive resource for PSIs to draw from when establishing strategies, policies, or actions.

  • What are the objectives of the Framework?

    The Framework will be designed to support PSIs when developing or updating their GBV plans and policies. The plans and policy guidelines in the Framework will provide guidance on principles, prevention, support, training, response, accountability, and reporting, in addition to other elements pertinent to GBV at PSIs.

  • How will the Framework be developed?

    The Department for Women and Gender Equality has entered into a contribution agreement with experts in the field who will draft the Framework with the support and guidance of an Advisory Committee. The Framework will not be finalized until wider consultations are conducted.

  • Will funding be withdrawn from post-secondary institutions?

    Any discussions regarding the withdrawal of federal funding will be considered in the context of implementation discussions. The Government of Canada intends to consult with a wide range of stakeholders before considering any withdrawal of federal funding.

  • How will students and survivors be involved?

    Students and survivors are represented on the Advisory Committee. Additionally, during the development phase of the Framework, the drafters will conduct regional consultations. The consultations will place needs and perspectives of diverse students and survivors as a priority. The drafters have also retained student experts to assist them with framework development, drafting consultations and research.

  • Who will implement the Framework?

    The Framework will support PSIs to develop and implement their GBV plans and policies on campus. Implementation measures will be discussed through the Advisory Committee following the drafting of the Framework.

  • When will the Framework be complete?

    It is expected that the drafters of the framework will complete initial development this spring. Following initial framework development, implementation discussions will begin. Implementation may require additional supporting documents and planning. Implementation discussions will also guide Framework funding priorities.

  • Who will use the Framework?

    The Framework will be designed to support PSIs in Canada including universities, colleges, cegeps, and private colleges when developing or updating their GBV plans and policies.

  • What impact will the Framework have on the lives of Canadians?

    The goal of the Framework is to create a culture where fewer Canadian communities at PSIs experience violence and those who unfortunately experience violence are adequately supported.

Advisory Committee for the Framework to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence at Post-Secondary Institutions

  • Why is the Government of Canada engaging with experts, advocates, and survivors on the Framework?

    It is important to hear from experts and advocates, such as academia, civil society and front-line service providers, to ensure that the Framework is informed by the experiences, needs and challenges of those who are most directly affected by GBV, including survivors, and those who work who with them. Engaging with experts and advocates will also ensure the Framework is based on evidence of what works best to prevent and address GBV.

  • What are the objectives of the Advisory Committee?

    The Advisory Committee will provide advice and feedback on the development, consultation and implementation of the Framework.

  • Who is on the Advisory Committee?

    The Advisory Committee is an informed, vibrant group of individuals dedicated to preventing and addressing GBV at PSIs. The members of the Advisory Committee are experienced representatives with expertise in a variety of disciplines. They possess a broad understanding of issues related to GBV at PSIs, working from a trauma-informed intersectional feminist approach and recognizing the particular barriers faced by members of diverse groups (e.g. students, survivors, Indigenous women and girls, LGBTQ2 and gender non-conforming persons, newcomer and migrant women and girls, persons with disabilities, and other groups affected by gender-based violence at post-secondary institutions).

  • How were members of the Advisory Committee selected?

    Members of the Advisory Committee have been selected to reflect expertise in the prevention of GBV, survivor and student support, and policy development within the post-secondary education sector.

  • Who will be consulted?

    In order to understand the particular barriers faced by diverse groups, consultations will take place with students, survivors, Indigenous women and girls, LGBTQ2 and gender non-conforming persons, newcomer and migrant women and girls, persons with disabilities, and other groups affected by gender-based violence at post-secondary institutions.

  • What is the term of the Committee?

    Members will be asked to agree to a term of one-year. As the Budget commitment to the Framework includes five years of funding, it is expected that the Committee or working groups coming out of the Committee will continue to advise the Department for Women and Gender Equality on framework implementation.

  • What is the role of Possibility Seeds?

    Possibility Seeds, led by Farrah Khan, CJ Rowe and a team of student experts, is the lead drafter of the Framework. They will consult the Advisory Committee extensively on what needs to be considered and included in the Framework, and lead consultations with a wider range of stakeholders throughout the country, before submitting a final Framework report in spring 2019.

Federal-Provincial-Territorial engagement

How will the Government of Canada work with provinces and territories on the Framework?

The Department for Women and Gender Equality will work closely with provincial and territorial leaders from education and women- or gender-focused ministries and departments to ensure regional perspectives are considered and addressed.

Other

  • Who can I contact with questions?

    For enquiries, please contact communications@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

  • How can I get involved in the development of the Framework?

    There are two ways you can contribute. You can request to participate in a Listening & Learning session hosted by Possibility Seeds by emailing hello@possibilityseeds.ca. You can also provide a written submission on the Possibility Seeds website.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions

Cadre pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS) dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

  • Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada facilite-t-il l’établissement d’un cadre?

    Dans le budget de 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a engagé 5,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à partir de 2018-2019, pour que le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres travaille avec des parties prenantes, dont les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, à l’élaboration d’un cadre pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS) dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire. Ce cadre contribuera à la mise en place d’approches cohérentes, complètes et durables pour prévenir et contrer la VFS dans les établissements postsecondaires.

  • Pourquoi le Canada a-t-il besoin d’un cadre?

    La violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS) persiste au Canada. Elle peut être prévenue et constitue un obstacle important à l’égalité entre les sexes. Bien que grandement sous-déclarée, la VFS est fréquente dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire à l’échelle du pays. Environ 261 000 incidents d’agression sexuelle ont été signalés par des étudiantes et des étudiants en 2014, ce qui représente 41 % de tous les cas déclarés d’agression sexuelle au pays. En dépit d’efforts croissants partout au pays pour contrer la VFS dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, les approches manquent d’uniformité. Il n’existe pas de normes ou de ressources exhaustives auxquelles les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire peuvent se reporter pour l’élaboration de stratégies, de politiques ou d’interventions.

  • Quels sont les objectifs du Cadre?

    Le Cadre sera conçu pour appuyer les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire dans l’élaboration ou la mise à jour de leurs plans et politiques contre la VFS. Les plans et les lignes directrices contenues dans le Cadre orienteront les principes, la prévention, le soutien, la formation, les interventions, la reddition de comptes et la production de rapports, en plus d’autres éléments pertinents à la VFS dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

  • Comment le Cadre sera-t-il élaboré?

    Le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres a conclu un accord de contribution avec des spécialistes du domaine qui rédigeront le Cadre avec le soutien et les conseils d’un comité consultatif. La rédaction de la version définitive du Cadre sera précédée par la tenue de consultations élargies.

  • Le financement des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire sera-t-il retiré?

    Toute discussion concernant le retrait du financement fédéral sera abordée dans le contexte des discussions entourant la mise en œuvre du Cadre. Le gouvernement du Canada a l’intention de consulter un vaste éventail de parties prenantes avant d’envisager le retrait de ce financement.

  • Quelle sera la participation des étudiantes, étudiants et personnes survivantes?

    Le Comité consultatif comprend des représentantes et représentants de la population estudiantine et de personnes survivantes. De plus, durant la phase d’élaboration du Cadre, les rédactrices effectueront des consultations régionales. Ces consultations accorderont la priorité aux besoins et au point de vue de la gamme diversifiée d’étudiantes, d’étudiants et de personnes survivantes. Les rédactrices ont également retenu les services d’un groupe étudiant expert pour les aider dans l’élaboration du Cadre, les consultations pour la rédaction et la recherche.

  • Qui mettra en œuvre le Cadre?

    Le Cadre aidera les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre leurs plans et politiques contre la VFS sur leurs campus. Après la rédaction du Cadre, les mesures de mise en œuvre feront l’objet de discussions par l’entremise du Comité consultatif.

  • Quand le Cadre sera-t-il achevé?

    Les personnes chargées de la rédaction du Cadre devraient achever l’élaboration initial au printemps. Après son élaboration initiale, les discussions commenceront au sujet de sa mise en œuvre. Cette dernière pourrait nécessiter des documents et des travaux de planification supplémentaires. Les discussions sur la mise en œuvre guideront également les priorités de financement du Cadre.

  • Qui utilisera le Cadre?

    Le Cadre sera conçu pour aider les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire au Canada, notamment les universités, les collèges, les cégeps et les collèges privés, à élaborer ou mettre à jour leurs plans et politiques contre la VFS.

  • Quel sera l’impact du Cadre sur la vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens?

    Le Cadre vise la création d’une culture où moins de communautés dans les établissements canadiens d’enseignement postsecondaire vivront la violence et où les personnes qui en sont malheureusement victimes seront convenablement soutenues.

Comité consultatif sur le Cadre pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe (VSF) dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

  • Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada collabore-t-il avec des spécialistes, des porte-paroles et des personnes survivantes pour l’élaboration du Cadre?

    Il est important d’entendre le point de vue des spécialistes et des porte-paroles, comme les universitaires, les membres de la société civile et les fournisseurs de services de première ligne, pour s’assurer que le Cadre est éclairé par les expériences, les besoins et les défis des personnes les plus directement touchées par la VFS, notamment les personnes survivantes et celles qui travaillent avec elles. La participation de spécialistes et de porte-parole fera également en sorte que le Cadre soit fondé sur des méthodes qui ont fait leurs preuves dans la prévention et la lutte contre la VFS.

  • Quels sont les objectifs du Comité consultatif?

    Le Comité consultatif formulera des conseils et des commentaires sur l’élaboration, les consultations et la mise en œuvre du Cadre.

  • Qui siège au Comité consultatif?

    Le Comité consultatif est un groupe dynamique et bien informé de personnes qui se consacrent à la prévention et à la lutte contre la VFS dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire. Les membres du Comité consultatif sont des personnes d’expérience ayant de l’expertise dans une gamme de disciplines. Elles possèdent une vaste compréhension des enjeux liés à la VFS dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, utilisent une approche féministe transversale tenant compte des traumatismes et reconnaissent les obstacles particuliers auxquels se heurtent les membres de groupes diversifiés (p. ex., étudiantes, étudiants, personnes survivantes, femmes et filles autochtones, personnes de la diversité sexuelle, nouvelles arrivantes et migrantes, personnes handicapées et autres groupes touchés par la violence fondée sur le sexe dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire).

  • Comment a-t-on procédé à la sélection des membres du Comité consultatif?

    Les membres du Comité consultatif ont été choisis de manière à le doter de l’expertise nécessaire en prévention de la VFS, en soutien des personnes survivantes, des étudiantes et des étudiants, et en élaboration de politiques dans le secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire.

  • Qui sera consulté?

    Afin de comprendre les obstacles particuliers auxquels se heurtent des groupes diversifiés, des consultations auront lieu avec des étudiantes, des étudiants, des personnes survivantes, des femmes et des filles autochtones, des personnes de la diversité sexuelle, des nouvelles arrivantes et des migrantes, des personnes handicapées et d’autres groupes touchés par la violence fondée sur le sexe dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

  • Quelle sera la durée du mandat du Comité?

    On demandera aux membres d’accepter un mandat d’un an. Comme l’engagement budgétaire pour le Cadre comprend cinq années de financement, on s’attend à ce que le Comité ou les groupes de travail qui seront formés continuent de conseiller le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres sur la mise en œuvre du Cadre.

  • Quel est le rôle de Possibility Seeds?

    La firme Possibility Seeds, dirigée par Farrah Khan, CJ Rowe et un groupe étudiant expert, est responsable de la rédaction du Cadre. Elle consultera abondamment le Comité consultatif sur ce qui doit être pris en compte et inclus dans le Cadre, et dirigera des consultations auprès d’une gamme élargie de parties prenantes à l’échelle du pays avant de produire un rapport final sur le Cadre au printemps 2019.

Engagement fédéral-provincial-territorial

Comment le gouvernement du Canada travaillera-t-il avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux à l’élaboration du Cadre?

Le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres travaillera en étroite collaboration avec des responsables des ministères provinciaux et territoriaux axés sur l’éducation, la condition féminine ou les genres pour faire en sorte que les points de vue régionaux soient pris en compte et abordés.

Autres questions

  • À qui puis-je adresser mes questions?

    Veuillez envoyer toute question que vous pourriez avoir à communications@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

  • Comment puis-je contribuer aux consultations?

    Il y a deux façons dont vous pouvez contribuer aux consultations. Vous pouvez envoyer une demande de participation à une séance d’écoute et d’apprentissage à hello@possibilityseeds.ca. Aussi, vous pouvez soumettre une présentation écrite par l’entremise du site Web.

Date de modification :