Archived information

This content is archived because Status of Women Canada no longer exists. Please visit the Women and Gender Equality Canada.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1986 Recipients

Denyse Bélanger-Rochon
Montpellier, Quebec

A former president of La Fédération des femmes du Québec, she lobbied the Quebec and federal governments on issues of priority to women such as equality rights, the impact of technological changes on women, pensions and child care.

Elizabeth Carr
Don Mills, Ontario

Elizabeth Carr has worked within many organizations including the Canadian Federation of University Women and the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, on issues of importance to women, notably continuing education and disarmament.

The Honourable Muriel McQueen Fergusson
Fredericton, New Brunswick

An ardent advocate of women's rights, she was appointed to the Senate in 1953 and used her position to speak on the injustices women have had to face. She became the first woman Speaker of the Senate in 1972.

Berenice Sisler
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Berenice Sisler has been an inspiration to the members of groups such as the Winnipeg YWCA and the Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women, in which she held various executive positions. She has advocated legislative changes in many areas including Family Law and pensions.

Helen Yeo
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

A longstanding member of the Business and Professional Women's Club and of the Canadian Federation of University Women, she played a key role in the establishment of the Prince Edward Island Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

Date modified: